
Business Password Managers
Proton Pass: features, pricing and who it fits
Proton Pass comes from a Swiss company and encrypts data end to end. It has a free plan, and business pricing begins at $1.99 per user with Pass Essentials. Email aliases and 2FA are included. Both business plans need 3 users, and SSO plus activity logs sit on Professional.
Who Proton Pass is for
Best for
- Privacy-first teams in Europe
- Small teams wanting email aliases and built-in 2FA
Look elsewhere if
- Enterprises needing PAM
- Buyers needing a G2 track record
Fit by company size
| Category | 1-10 people | 11-50 people | 51-500 people | 500+ people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Password Managers | Workable | Strong fit | Workable | Poor fit |
Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor
Proton Pass features
- Shared vaults and permissions
- Group sharing on Professional
- SSO and directory sync
- SSO listed under Pass Professional; SCIM not stated
- Admin console and reporting
- Detailed activity logs and enterprise policies on Professional
- Passkey and MFA support
- Passkey support on Essentials and up
- Encryption and security record
- End-to-end encrypted; ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA pages linked
- Dark web and breach monitoring
- Dark Web Monitoring on Essentials
- Pricing model
- Per user per month billed annually, 3-user minimum
- Target company size
- SMB
Proton Pass pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pass Essentials | $1.99 | per user/month, billed annually | $23.88/user/year, 3-user minimum |
| Pass Professional | $4.49 | per user/month, billed annually | $53.88/user/year, 3-user minimum; SSO, activity logs, SIEM, CLI, group sharing |
| Workspace Standard | $12.99 | per user/month | $155.88/user/year; all Proton business products |
Prices shown were promotional (60% and 36% off); regular prices not captured.
Prices as published by Proton Pass on the date above. Quotes for larger teams often differ, which is what a request on SaaSBid surfaces.
Pros and cons
What users like
- Strong privacy posture
- Email alias and 2FA built in
Common complaints
- Fewer enterprise admin features
- Newer product with short track record
Integrations, security and hosting
- Security and compliance
- ISO 27001
- Data residency
- Not stated on pricing page; Swiss-based company
Worth knowing before you buy
- 3-user minimum on both Pass business plans
- SSO, activity logs and SIEM only on Professional
- Pricing page showed promotional discounts, so list price may rise
- Hosting location not stated on page, only Swiss company
Proton Pass alternatives
BitwardenFree organization plan
1Password$24.95 per month for up to 10 members (Teams Starter Pack, $299.40/yr)
NordPass$1.79 per user/month (Teams, 2-year plan, Cybernews)
Dashlane$2 per seat/month (Starter, third-party reported)
Passbolt$4.90 per user per month (Pro, billed annually, min 10 users)
Keeper Security$2 per user/month (Business Starter, third-party reported)