SaaSBid.io

IT, data and security

Best Business Password Managers in 2026: 11 Tools Compared by Company Size and Requirements

Updated October 24, 2026 · 11 tools · Facts checked against vendor pages · How we review

1Password and Bitwarden are the strongest all-round picks for a password manager for business: 1Password for polished apps and a flat starter pack covering up to 20 people, Bitwarden for a low per-user price and self-hosting. Keeper suits regulated buyers who need FedRAMP or FIPS 140-3, and Uniqkey fits companies that want EU-only hosting.

This page is for owners, IT leads and office managers who are choosing a password manager for business and want to know what fits before talking to vendors. The tools are grouped by company size and by requirements such as SSO, directory sync and hosting location. Turn the requirement lists below into a written request on SaaSBid, then compare the offers that come back instead of decoding a dozen pricing pages with unclear tier names.

Top picks by situation

  • A 15-person agency that wants a flat price

    1Password

    The Teams Starter Pack costs $24.95 per month for 10 members and takes up to 10 more at $4.99 each, which beats Business pricing at that size.

    From: $24.95 per month for up to 10 members (Teams Starter Pack, $299.40/yr)

  • A cost-focused team that may self-host

    Bitwarden

    The Teams plan runs $4 per user monthly with SCIM and event logs included, a free organization option exists, and Enterprise at $6 adds the ability to host it yourself.

    From: Free organization plan

  • A regulated firm facing audits

    Keeper Security

    Its listed certifications include FedRAMP High, FIPS 140-3, HIPAA alignment and SOC 2, with SSO and SCIM on the Enterprise plan.

    From: $2 per user/month (Business Starter, third-party reported)

  • A European company with EU-only hosting rules

    Uniqkey

    Hosting stays in the EU, ISO 27001 is listed, SCIM 2.0 is included, and phone support plus a dedicated customer success manager come in the single bundled price.

    From: Contact sales

  • A technical team that audits its own tools

    Passbolt

    The code is open source and OpenPGP based, it can run self-hosted, and Pro adds LDAP provisioning and SSO for a minimum of 10 users.

    From: $4.90 per user per month (Pro, billed annually, min 10 users)

  • A small team already on Zoho or Microsoft

    Zoho Vault

    Pricing opens at $0.90 per user monthly with a free tier available, and Professional brings audit logs plus user and group sync from Azure or Google.

    From: Free

Business Password Managers comparison table

Business Password Managers compared
ToolBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialG2 rating
Keeper Security Regulated or government-adjacent buyers needing FedRAMP, FIPS 140-3 or HIPAA alignment $2 per user/month (Business Starter, third-party reported) No Yes 4.6 (1,179 reviews)
LastPass Teams already on LastPass wanting familiar admin tooling $4 per user/month (Teams, billed annually) Yes Yes 4.4 (1,962 reviews)
RoboForm Small teams that want a cheap per-user business password manager From about $39.95 per user per year (third-party reported Not stated Yes 4.6 (749 reviews)
Uniqkey European companies wanting EU-only hosting Contact sales No Yes 4.4 (140 reviews)
1Password Small teams of up to 20 via the Starter Pack $24.95 per month for up to 10 members (Teams Starter Pack, $299.40/yr) No Yes 4.6 (1,808 reviews)
NordPass Cost-focused SMBs on Google Workspace $1.79 per user/month (Teams, 2-year plan, Cybernews) No Yes 4.5 (638 reviews)
Zoho Vault Teams already on Zoho or Microsoft/Okta wanting very low prices Free Yes Yes 4.4 (75 reviews)
Proton Pass Privacy-first teams in Europe $1.99 per user/month (Pass Essentials, billed annually) Yes Yes No rating
Passbolt Technical teams that want to self-host and audit the code $4.90 per user per month (Pro, billed annually, min 10 users) Yes Not stated 4.3 (15 reviews)
Dashlane Small and mid-size teams that want a polished employee-facing app $2 per seat/month (Starter, third-party reported) No Yes 4.5 (615 reviews)
Bitwarden Budget-conscious teams: $4 per user per month for Teams Free organization plan Yes Yes 4.6 (1,342 reviews)

What are business password managers?

Business password management means one encrypted vault that the whole company shares under administrator control. Employees store logins, notes and sometimes passkeys, and teams pass credentials to each other through shared folders instead of chat messages or spreadsheets. IT sets password rules, requires multi-factor authentication, reads activity logs and removes access the day someone leaves. Larger setups tie the vault to Okta, Entra ID or a similar directory, so accounts appear and disappear automatically. Finance, marketing, support and engineering all use a password manager for business, since every department holds shared logins to some web service.

Core capabilities

  • Encrypted shared vaults

    Keeps company logins in folders or collections with per-person or per-group rights, so access follows the job and not a forwarded message.

  • Single sign-on and directory sync

    Connects the vault to Okta, Entra ID or Google so staff sign in with company identities and accounts are created and removed automatically.

  • Admin console and activity logs

    Shows who accessed or changed what, flags weak and reused passwords, and exports events for audits.

  • Multi-factor authentication and passkeys

    Enforces a second factor for vault access and stores passkeys next to passwords.

  • Breach and dark web alerts

    Warns administrators when employee credentials show up in leaked data sets.

  • Autofill and browser extensions

    Fills logins and forms on desktop and mobile so staff actually use the vault every day.

The 11 best business password managers, reviewed

1

Keeper Security

$2 per user/month (Business Starter, third-party reported)

Keeper is a zero-knowledge vault with a path toward privileged access management, and it lists more compliance badges than the others here, among them FedRAMP High, FIPS 140-3 and SOC 2. SSO and SCIM require the Enterprise plan. Reporting modules are paid extras without public prices.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Regulated or government-adjacent buyers needing FedRAMP, FIPS 140-3 or HIPAA alignment
  • Teams that expect to add PAM or secrets management later

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers who want a flat published price for SSO
  • Very small teams wanting the cheapest possible per-seat cost

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Shared folders and records (vendor product, details not re-verified)
SSO and directory sync
SSO/SAML and SCIM listed on the Enterprise plan
Admin console and reporting
Advanced Reporting & Alerts and Compliance Reporting sold as add-ons
Encryption and security record
Zero-knowledge, end-to-end encryption; FedRAMP High, ISO 27001/27017/27018, SOC 2, FIPS 140-3 listed
Pricing model
Per user per month billed annually, add-ons extra
Target company size
SMB through enterprise and government

What users like

  • Broad security certifications
  • Deep admin and PAM extensions

Common complaints

  • Add-ons make total cost hard to predict
  • No public price for higher tiers

Full Keeper Security profileRequest an offer

2

LastPass

$4 per user/month (Teams, billed annually)

LastPass has been around for years, with Teams, Business and Business Max plans that existing customers know well. Its 2022 breach exposed encrypted vault backups and metadata, and the UK ICO fined the company 1.2M GBP in December 2025. SSO is limited to 3 apps on Business.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Teams already on LastPass wanting familiar admin tooling
  • Small groups up to 50 users on the Teams tier

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers for whom the 2022 breach and UK ICO fine are disqualifying
  • Teams needing SSO in the cheapest tier

Key features

SSO and directory sync
Business: SSO for 3 apps, directory integrations (Okta, Entra ID); Business Max: unlimited SSO. SCIM not named
Encryption and security record
2022 breach exposed encrypted vault backups and metadata; ICO fined LastPass 1.2M GBP in December 2025
Dark web and breach monitoring
Dark web monitoring features in Business Max (AI/Web monitoring)
Pricing model
Per user per month billed annually
Target company size
SMB to mid-market

What users like

  • Familiar interface and broad integrations
  • Low entry price

Common complaints

  • Trust damaged by 2022 breach
  • SSO capped at 3 apps on Business

Full LastPass profileRequest an offer

3

RoboForm

From about $39.95 per user per year (third-party reported

RoboForm comes from Siber Systems and is known for fast login and form autofill. Business tiers are priced per user per year and get cheaper as the team grows, from about $39.95. It lists SSO and SCIM, though details should be confirmed with the vendor.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: poor fit

Best for

  • Small teams that want a cheap per-user business password manager
  • Teams that rely on web form autofill

Look elsewhere if

  • Enterprises needing a verified deep audit trail and PAM
  • Buyers who need public vendor-confirmed SSO/SCIM plan details before a trial

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Shared folders with role-based access reported by third-party review; not confirmed by the vendor on vendor docs
SSO and directory sync
SSO and SCIM listed; SCIM options reported for Okta, OneLogin and Microsoft Entra ID (eSecurityPlanet)
Pricing model
Per user per year, tiered by team size
Target company size
SMB to mid-size; custom quotes above 1,000 users

What users like

  • Quick login and form autofill work well
  • Simple browser extension and password generator

Common complaints

  • Support quality scores lower than rivals in G2 comparisons

Full RoboForm profileRequest an offer

4

Uniqkey

Contact sales

Uniqkey is a Danish product that keeps data in the EU and charges a single bundled price per user through a quote. Group sharing, an audit log, security scores, passkeys and SCIM 2.0 are listed. Buyers also get phone support and a named success manager; SSO is not mentioned.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • European companies wanting EU-only hosting
  • Teams wanting phone support and a customer success manager

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers needing public pricing
  • US-centric teams

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Secure password sharing, group management
SSO and directory sync
SCIM 2.0 listed; SSO not mentioned
Admin console and reporting
Audit log, security scores, verified domains
Passkey and MFA support
Passkeys supported
Encryption and security record
ISO 27001 certified, EU-hosted (OMR)
Pricing model
One bundled per-user price via quote
Target company size
SMB to mid-market

What users like

  • Group sharing and license savings
  • Support included

Common complaints

  • Help center thin
  • Few reviews

Full Uniqkey profileRequest an offer

5

1Password

$24.95 per month for up to 10 members (Teams Starter Pack, $299.40/yr)

1Password offers a Starter Pack at $24.95 per month for 10 members, followed by Business at $8.99 per user and an Enterprise plan. Logging in through Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin or Duo is a Business feature. Reviewers like the polished apps and mention friction around the Secret Key.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Small teams of up to 20 via the Starter Pack
  • Companies wanting SSO unlock with Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin or Duo
  • Teams that value polished apps

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing a free business tier or self-hosting
  • Budget buyers: Business costs about twice Bitwarden Teams

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Shared vaults with group permissions (Business)
SSO and directory sync
Unlock with SSO via Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin, Duo on Business; user and group provisioning listed on Business page
Admin console and reporting
Custom business reports on account activity; Events Reporting streams to SIEM
Encryption and security record
SOC 2 Type 2 listed on pricing comparison
Dark web and breach monitoring
Watchtower, reported as Business feature (one review)
Pricing model
Flat $24.95/mo for 10 members, then $8.99 per user per month
Target company size
Small teams to enterprise

What users like

  • Polished apps and UX
  • Strong security model
  • Easy sharing

Common complaints

  • Higher price than alternatives
  • Secret Key setup friction for some users

Full 1Password profileRequest an offer

6

NordPass

$1.79 per user/month (Teams, 2-year plan, Cybernews)

NordPass belongs to Nord Security and sells three tiers, with an entry price near $1.79 per user on a two-year commitment. Google Workspace sign-in is reported on Teams. Numbers differ between sources, and the feature set is shallower than Keeper or 1Password.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • Cost-focused SMBs on Google Workspace
  • Teams that want a simple vault with admin settings

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers who need published SCIM details
  • Teams needing PAM

Key features

SSO and directory sync
Google Workspace SSO on Teams per Cybernews; SCIM not confirmed
Pricing model
Per user per month, discount for 1-2 year commitments
Target company size
SMB to enterprise

What users like

  • Low entry price
  • Simple interface

Common complaints

  • Pricing numbers differ across sources
  • Feature depth below Keeper or 1Password

Full NordPass profileRequest an offer

7

Zoho Vault is the cheapest option in this group, starting at $0.90 per user monthly, and it also has a free tier. Shared folders and audit logs arrive on Professional, while SSO for cloud apps needs Enterprise. Some reviewers find the interface dated.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Teams already on Zoho or Microsoft/Okta wanting very low prices
  • Small teams starting free

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers wanting modern UX leaders
  • Teams needing published SCIM

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Shared folders and user groups from Professional
SSO and directory sync
SSO for cloud apps on Enterprise; user/group sync from Professional (Azure, Google), Okta on Enterprise; SCIM not named
Admin console and reporting
Audit logs from Professional
Pricing model
Per user per month, 10% annual discount
Target company size
SMB

What users like

  • Very low price
  • Free plan available

Common complaints

  • Dated interface
  • Fewer features than top vendors

Full Zoho Vault profileRequest an offer

8

Proton Pass

$1.99 per user/month (Pass Essentials, billed annually)

Proton Pass comes from a Swiss company and encrypts data end to end. It has a free plan, and business pricing begins at $1.99 per user with Pass Essentials. Email aliases and 2FA are included. Both business plans need 3 users, and SSO plus activity logs sit on Professional.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: poor fit

Best for

  • Privacy-first teams in Europe
  • Small teams wanting email aliases and built-in 2FA

Look elsewhere if

  • Enterprises needing PAM
  • Buyers needing a G2 track record

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Group sharing on Professional
SSO and directory sync
SSO listed under Pass Professional; SCIM not stated
Admin console and reporting
Detailed activity logs and enterprise policies on Professional
Passkey and MFA support
Passkey support on Essentials and up
Encryption and security record
End-to-end encrypted; ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA pages linked
Dark web and breach monitoring
Dark Web Monitoring on Essentials
Pricing model
Per user per month billed annually, 3-user minimum
Target company size
SMB

What users like

  • Strong privacy posture
  • Email alias and 2FA built in

Common complaints

  • Fewer enterprise admin features
  • Newer product with short track record

Full Proton Pass profileRequest an offer

9

Passbolt

$4.90 per user per month (Pro, billed annually, min 10 users)

Passbolt is open source and built on OpenPGP, and it can be self-hosted or bought as a hosted service. The free Community edition is available; Pro costs $4.90 per user with a 10-user minimum. First-time onboarding is hard for non-technical staff, and the browser extension can be flaky.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: workable
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • Technical teams that want to self-host and audit the code
  • EU organizations that value Luxembourg-registered vendor and open source

Look elsewhere if

  • Non-technical teams that need effortless onboarding
  • Buyers needing a published data-residency statement for the hosted service

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Per-secret OpenPGP encryption for each authorized user; folder and group sharing
SSO and directory sync
Pro: LDAP (AD/OpenLDAP) provisioning and SSO via Microsoft, Google, OpenID; SCIM and AD FS listed as Pro features but checkmarks not confirmed
Admin console and reporting
Pro: activity log of changes; log export to syslog listed (plan not confirmed)
Encryption and security record
OpenPGP, secrets encrypted per user, fully open source; Cure53 audits through 2026; SOC 2 Type II (2021)
Pricing model
Free Community, per-user Pro with 10 user minimum, custom Enterprise
Target company size
SMB to enterprise, technical teams

What users like

  • Easy password sharing in teams
  • Open source and auditable

Common complaints

  • First-time user onboarding is hard
  • Browser extension can be flaky

Full Passbolt profileRequest an offer

10

Dashlane

$2 per seat/month (Starter, third-party reported)

Dashlane targets small and mid-size teams with a clean employee app, strong autofill and password health scores, in Starter, Team and Business tiers. SSO is supported, but SCIM details are thin and plan names vary between sources, so ask for the exact tier contents.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small and mid-size teams that want a polished employee-facing app
  • Companies that want SSO-based login in a mainstream tier

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams that need transparent public pricing without a call or checkout
  • Organizations needing privileged access management

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Shared collections and group sharing (not confirmed by the vendor)
SSO and directory sync
SSO supported per expertinsights.com review; SCIM not confirmed
Encryption and security record
Zero-knowledge design (vendor claim, not re-verified)
Pricing model
Per seat per month, tiered Starter/Team/Business
Target company size
SMB to mid-market

What users like

  • Clean, easy-to-use apps and browser extension
  • Strong autofill and password health scoring

Common complaints

  • Pricing tiers and plan names are unclear across sources
  • Few details published on SCIM

Full Dashlane profileRequest an offer

11

Bitwarden

Free organization plan

Bitwarden is open source and end-to-end encrypted, with a free organization plan, Teams at $4 and Enterprise at $6 per user per month. SSO via SAML or OIDC and self-hosting need Enterprise. Reviewers praise the price and call the interface less polished than rivals.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Budget-conscious teams: $4 per user per month for Teams
  • Companies wanting self-hosting (Enterprise)
  • Open-source preference

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers wanting the most polished UX
  • Teams that need SSO but want the cheapest plan (SSO is Enterprise only)

Key features

Shared vaults and permissions
Collections and unlimited sharing in organization (Teams)
SSO and directory sync
SAML 2.0/OIDC SSO for Enterprise organizations; SCIM listed on Teams page
Admin console and reporting
Event logs and API (Teams)
Encryption and security record
Open source, end-to-end encrypted; certifications not confirmed by the vendor
Pricing model
$4 Teams / $6 Enterprise per user per month, annual
Target company size
SMB to enterprise

What users like

  • Ease of use and cross-platform support
  • Security and open source transparency
  • Low price

Common complaints

  • Interface less polished than rivals
  • Some advanced admin features need Enterprise

Full Bitwarden profileRequest an offer

How to choose business password managers

Shared vaults and permissions

This covers how credentials move between people: shared folders or collections, group rights and read-only access. Strong tools let admins assign rights per group and revoke them in one step. Weak ones offer a single shared bucket or hide group sharing in a higher plan.

SSO and directory sync

This measures whether the vault plugs into your identity provider and whether accounts are created and removed automatically. Strong products support Okta and Entra ID sign-in plus SCIM or LDAP sync on the plan you are quoted. Weak ones cap SSO at a few apps or leave SCIM undocumented.

Admin console and reporting

Admin reporting is the evidence layer: activity logs, security scores and exports to a SIEM. Strong tools show who opened or changed an item and flag weak or reused passwords. Weak tools sell this as an add-on or provide only a basic user list.

Passkey and MFA support

This describes whether the vault can store passkeys and enforce multi-factor authentication for its own users. Strong tools do both and support common authenticator apps and hardware keys. Weak ones handle passwords only, which leaves a gap as more sites move to passkeys.

Encryption and security record

This looks at how the vault is built and what the vendor can prove. Strong products use zero-knowledge encryption, publish independent audits and have a clear incident history. Weak ones rely on claims, have unexplained gaps in certifications or carry a past breach that exposed customer data.

Dark web and breach monitoring

Breach monitoring watches for employee credentials in leaked data and notifies the right administrator. Strong tools tie alerts to company domains and display them in the admin console. Weak tools offer it only on personal plans or the most expensive tier.

Pricing model

This criterion is about how the product is billed: per user, flat starter pack, annual only, with minimum seats or with paid add-ons. Strong models list what each tier includes and are easy to forecast. Weak ones spread key features across add-ons or hide higher tiers behind a sales call.

Target company size

This shows which companies the vendor built for. Lightweight tools suit teams of a few people with free tiers or flat packs, while enterprise-oriented products add SSO, SCIM and compliance reporting. A mismatch means either paying for controls you never use or outgrowing the tool.

The SaaSBid view

Which business password managers tool fits your company size

Fit of each tool by company size
Tool1-10 people11-50 people51-500 people500+ people
Keeper SecurityWorkableStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
LastPassWorkableStrong fitWorkableNo data
RoboFormWorkableStrong fitWorkablePoor fit
UniqkeyNo dataStrong fitStrong fitNo data
1PasswordStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
NordPassNo dataStrong fitWorkableWorkable
Zoho VaultStrong fitStrong fitWorkableNo data
Proton PassWorkableStrong fitWorkablePoor fit
PassboltWorkableWorkableStrong fitWorkable
DashlaneNo dataStrong fitStrong fitNo data
BitwardenStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit

Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor

Ratings follow the stated target audience of each vendor, minimum seat counts, free plan availability, and whether SSO, directory sync, audit logs or compliance certifications are listed. A blank cell means the vendor says nothing useful about that size.

  • 1-10 people

    Setup effort and a simple price matter most. The 1Password Starter Pack, Bitwarden's free organization tier and Zoho Vault's free plan all let a tiny team begin cheaply. Keeper's Starter tier is meant for 5 to 10 users, while Proton Pass needs at least 3.

  • 11-50 people

    Shared folders, MFA enforcement and some reporting become necessary. 1Password, Bitwarden, Dashlane, Uniqkey, NordPass and Keeper all target this range. Check which tier carries SSO, because it is often not the cheapest one.

  • 51-500 people

    Directory sync and offboarding automation decide the shortlist. Keeper, 1Password, Bitwarden, Dashlane, Uniqkey and Passbolt Pro fit here. Ask each vendor whether SCIM is included in the quoted plan.

  • 500+ people

    Large companies need SSO, event streaming and audit evidence. Keeper, 1Password and Bitwarden Enterprise are listed for this size. Keeper adds the longest certification list, and Passbolt offers an Enterprise tier with a 4-hour support SLA.

Feature coverage at a glance

Documented features by tool
ToolShared vaults and permissionsSSO and directory syncAdmin console and reportingPasskey and MFA supportEncryption and security recordDark web and breach monitoringShare
Keeper SecurityDocumented: Shared folders and records (vendor product, details not re-verified)Documented: SSO/SAML and SCIM listed on the Enterprise planDocumented: Advanced Reporting & Alerts and Compliance Reporting sold as add-onsNot documentedDocumented: Zero-knowledge, end-to-end encryption; FedRAMP High, ISO 27001/27017/27018, SOC 2, FIPS 140-3 listedNot documented67%
LastPassNot documentedDocumented: Business: SSO for 3 apps, directory integrations (Okta, Entra ID); Business Max: unlimited SSO. SCIM not namedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: 2022 breach exposed encrypted vault backups and metadata; ICO fined LastPass 1.2M GBP in December 2025Documented: Dark web monitoring features in Business Max (AI/Web monitoring)50%
RoboFormDocumented: Shared folders with role-based access reported by third-party review; not confirmed by the vendor on vendor docsDocumented: SSO and SCIM listed; SCIM options reported for Okta, OneLogin and Microsoft Entra ID (eSecurityPlanet)Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented33%
UniqkeyDocumented: Secure password sharing, group managementDocumented: SCIM 2.0 listed; SSO not mentionedDocumented: Audit log, security scores, verified domainsDocumented: Passkeys supportedDocumented: ISO 27001 certified, EU-hosted (OMR)Not documented83%
1PasswordDocumented: Shared vaults with group permissions (Business)Documented: Unlock with SSO via Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin, Duo on Business; user and group provisioning listed on Business pageDocumented: Custom business reports on account activity; Events Reporting streams to SIEMNot documentedDocumented: SOC 2 Type 2 listed on pricing comparisonDocumented: Watchtower, reported as Business feature (one review)83%
NordPassNot documentedDocumented: Google Workspace SSO on Teams per Cybernews; SCIM not confirmedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented17%
Zoho VaultDocumented: Shared folders and user groups from ProfessionalDocumented: SSO for cloud apps on Enterprise; user/group sync from Professional (Azure, Google), Okta on Enterprise; SCIM not namedDocumented: Audit logs from ProfessionalNot documentedNot documentedNot documented50%
Proton PassDocumented: Group sharing on ProfessionalDocumented: SSO listed under Pass Professional; SCIM not statedDocumented: Detailed activity logs and enterprise policies on ProfessionalDocumented: Passkey support on Essentials and upDocumented: End-to-end encrypted; ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA pages linkedDocumented: Dark Web Monitoring on Essentials100%
PassboltDocumented: Per-secret OpenPGP encryption for each authorized user; folder and group sharingDocumented: Pro: LDAP (AD/OpenLDAP) provisioning and SSO via Microsoft, Google, OpenID; SCIM and AD FS listed as Pro features but checkmarks not confirmedDocumented: Pro: activity log of changes; log export to syslog listed (plan not confirmed)Not documentedDocumented: OpenPGP, secrets encrypted per user, fully open source; Cure53 audits through 2026; SOC 2 Type II (2021)Not documented67%
DashlaneDocumented: Shared collections and group sharing (not confirmed by the vendor)Documented: SSO supported per expertinsights.com review; SCIM not confirmedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Zero-knowledge design (vendor claim, not re-verified)Not documented50%
BitwardenDocumented: Collections and unlimited sharing in organization (Teams)Documented: SAML 2.0/OIDC SSO for Enterprise organizations; SCIM listed on Teams pageDocumented: Event logs and API (Teams)Not documentedDocumented: Open source, end-to-end encrypted; certifications not confirmed by the vendorNot documented67%

A check means the vendor documents the capability publicly (hover for the detail). A dash means we found no public documentation, which is a question to put in your request, not proof the feature is missing.

Business Password Managers requirements checklist

Use this list to write down what your team actually needs. Sorting requirements into must-have, should-have and nice-to-have is what lets vendors quote accurately instead of pitching their biggest plan.

Must have

  • Shared folders with read-only and edit rights per person or groupGranular sharing is what separates a business plan from a stack of personal accounts.
  • Enforced multi-factor authentication for every vault userA vault with weak sign-in becomes the single biggest target in the company.
  • Fast removal of a leaving employee's access with a handover of shared itemsOffboarding speed is a core audit question and may depend on directory sync.
  • Zero-knowledge encryption with a published security recordBuyers should see audits and certifications, not only marketing claims.
  • Browser extensions for Chrome, Edge and Firefox plus iOS and Android appsStaff skip the vault if autofill does not work on the devices they use.

Should have

  • Single sign-on through Okta, Entra ID or Google WorkspaceSSO is frequently reserved for the upper tier and changes the quote.
  • Automatic user provisioning through SCIM or directory syncIt keeps the vault in line with the HR system without manual edits.
  • Activity logs and weak or reused password reportsReports give proof of policy compliance during a security review.
  • Passkey storage next to passwordsMore services are adopting passkeys, and the vault should hold them.

Nice to have

  • Dark web monitoring for company email addressesIt adds early warning, though some vendors reserve it for the top plan.
  • Self-hosting or EU-only hostingSome companies must keep encrypted data on their own servers or within the EU.
  • Event streaming to a SIEMSecurity teams can watch vault activity next to other logs.

Turn this checklist into a request

Questions vendors will ask you

Have answers ready for these, and your first conversation with a vendor starts at pricing instead of discovery.

  1. How many employees need a vault seat, and do contractors need one too?Seat counts and minimums such as 3, 5 or 10 users shape which plans are even available.
  2. Which identity provider do you use today?SSO support for Okta, Entra ID or Google varies, and some vendors gate it behind a higher tier.
  3. Should accounts be created and removed automatically from your directory?SCIM or LDAP provisioning may sit in a different plan from basic sharing.
  4. Do you need data stored in a specific region or on your own servers?Hosting location rules out some products and moves others toward self-hosted editions.
  5. Do you need compliance evidence such as SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HIPAA alignment?Certifications differ widely between vendors and may influence the tier.
  6. Who will migrate existing passwords, and from which tool?Import support and onboarding help decide how much internal time the rollout takes.

Example request

What a strong business password managers request looks like
We are a 40-person software consultancy with an IT lead and a part-time admin. Today our shared logins live in a spreadsheet and a few browser vaults, and we lose track of who still has access after people leave. We need shared folders with group permissions, enforced multi-factor authentication, an admin console with activity logs, and apps for desktop and phone. We use Google Workspace and would like single sign-on plus automatic account removal. Passkey storage is a plus. Data should stay in the EU if possible. We want to be live within a month and expect a budget in the low four figures per year, billed annually.

Write your own request

Business Password Managers FAQ

What is a business password manager?

It is an encrypted vault that a company shares among employees under administrator control. Admins set password policy, share logins through folders, review activity and remove access when someone leaves. It differs from a personal manager through group permissions, reporting and identity provider integration.

What is the best password manager for a small business?

That depends on size and priorities. A team of up to 20 can use the 1Password Starter Pack, Bitwarden has low per-user prices and a free organization tier, and Zoho Vault has a free plan. European teams that insist on EU-only hosting should look at Uniqkey.

Is a business password manager safe after the LastPass breach?

The 2022 incident exposed encrypted vault backups and metadata, and the UK ICO fined LastPass 1.2M GBP in December 2025. Other products with zero-knowledge designs and published audits, such as Keeper, Bitwarden and Passbolt, are common alternatives. Ask any vendor for its security reports.

Do password managers support SSO and SCIM?

Many do, but usually only on upper tiers. Bitwarden reserves SSO for Enterprise, Keeper names SSO and SCIM on its Enterprise plan, 1Password offers SSO unlock on Business, and Uniqkey lists SCIM 2.0. Confirm which plan carries which feature before you compare prices.

Can a password manager share logins securely with employees?

Yes. Shared folders or collections let admins give a group access to a login without anyone seeing or retyping the password in chat. Permissions can be changed or revoked later, and logs show who used the item.

What should I include in a password manager request for offers?

Name your headcount, identity provider, hosting preferences, compliance needs, migration source and go-live date. State whether SSO and SCIM are required, since those features decide the tier and the quote.

The bottom line

Start with company size and the two or three requirements that cannot move, usually SSO, directory sync and hosting location. Cross off every product that misses one, and compare what remains on support and security evidence. A precise request on SaaSBid lets each vendor quote the right tier on the first try, so offers line up and surprises like add-on reporting or seat minimums appear before you sign.

Related categories