
Customer Success Software
Gainsight: features, pricing and who it fits
Gainsight is an enterprise customer success platform with health scores, dashboards and playbooks, sold as a suite with communities, education and product experience. It suits larger SaaS firms with CS operations staff. Essentials limits teams to 10 full users and 100 customers per user.
Who Gainsight is for
Best for
- Larger SaaS companies with a dedicated CS operations team
- Teams that want CS plus communities and customer education from one vendor
Look elsewhere if
- Small teams that need fast self-serve setup
- Buyers who want public pricing
Gainsight features
- Health scoring
- Customer health scores and dashboards
- Playbooks and automation
- Playbooks, Success Plans and Journey Orchestrator on Essentials and Enterprise
- Customer 360 and data integrations
- Salesforce-connected dashboards
- Onboarding and renewal management
- Renewal and expansion forecasting on Enterprise only; Essentials adds onboarding help
- Reporting and analytics
- Dashboards and health scorecards on both Essentials and Enterprise
- Ease of setup
- Vendor says Essentials can start in as little as two weeks
- Pricing model
- Quote-based tiers by full users and customers per user
- Target company size
- Mid-market to enterprise
Integrations, security and hosting
- Security and compliance
- SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA badge, Data Privacy Framework
- Implementation
- Essentials: start and scale 'in as little as two weeks' per vendor
Worth knowing before you buy
- Essentials limits you to 10 full users and 100 customers per user
- Viewer licenses are unlimited on both tiers
- Sold as a suite: Skilljar, Communities and Product Experience have separate tiers
- Majority-owned by Vista Equity Partners since 2020
Gainsight alternatives
Vendor dossier
Fit by company size
| Category | 1-10 people | 11-50 people | 51-500 people | 500+ people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Customer Success Software | Poor fit | Poor fit | Strong fit | Strong fit |
Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor
How buying Gainsight works
- How you buy
- Through sales
- Demo or quote needed for
- All Customer Success tiers (Request Pricing)
- Time to go live (vendor statement)
- Essentials: start and scale 'in as little as two weeks'
Security and data protection
- SOC 2
- Type II (page says SOC II compliance, type not stated)
- ISO 27001
- Yes
- HIPAA
- HIPAA compliant badge (BAA terms not stated)
From Gainsight's trust center, security and legal pages. Anything not listed is not published.
About the company
- Founded
- 2009
- Headquarters
- Redwood City, US
- Ownership
- private equity (Vista Equity Partners, majority since 2020)
- 2020
- Majority investment by Vista Equity Partners
Support and integrations
- Notable integrations
- Salesforce
What vendors in this category ask before quoting
Answer these once in a SaaSBid request and Gainsight and its alternatives quote against the same facts.
- How many customers and CSMs do you have, and how many people only need to view data?Customer counts, full users and viewer seats drive tiers at many vendors.
- Which systems hold your account data: CRM, product analytics, billing and support?Each source needs a connector, and some integrations are manual.
- What does your customer success motion look like: high touch, tech touch or both?Some vendors price or package by how you run customer success.
- Do you need data hosted in a specific region, or SSO and audit logs?These controls may depend on the plan.
- When should the platform go live, and who will configure it?Setup times vary from weeks to months, and paid onboarding may be needed.
- Do you need portals, communities or in-app messages alongside the core platform?Such modules are often sold separately and change the quote.