SaaSBid.io

Ecommerce Platforms

Shopify: features, pricing and who it fits

Checked October 24, 2026 · shopify.com

Plan names on Shopify run Basic, Grow, Advanced and Plus, with Basic at $29 per month on yearly billing. Card fees shrink on pricier plans, whereas outside gateways add 2% on Basic. Staff seats move from none to unlimited on Plus.

Who Shopify is for

Best for

  • Small and mid-size brands that want a hosted store without managing servers
  • Merchants that will use Shopify Payments to avoid the third-party gateway fee
  • Brands that need a path from a cheap plan to Plus without replatforming

Look elsewhere if

  • Merchants that must use an outside payment gateway at low volume (2% extra fee on Basic)
  • Teams needing full server-level control of code and data
  • Anyone expecting SSO details on the public pricing page (not stated there)

Fit by company size

Category1-10 people11-50 people51-500 people500+ people
Ecommerce PlatformsStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
Website BuildersStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit

Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor

Shopify features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Hosted SaaS
Payment processing and transaction fees
Shopify Payments online card 2.1% + EUR 0.30 on Basic down to 1.3% + EUR 0.30 on Plus; third-party gateways add 2% / 1% / 0.6% / 0.2% by plan
Scalability and checkout limits
Staff seats rise from none (Basic) to 5, 15 and unlimited (Plus)
Pricing model and transparency
Four tiers, about 25% cheaper when paid yearly; fees fall as plan rises
Target company size
Starter stores to enterprise (Plus)
Ecommerce capability
Native checkout, POS Pro add-on at EUR 79/mo per location
Hosting, uptime and speed
Vendor-hosted
Pricing model
Four tiers, about 25% cheaper when paid yearly; fees fall as plan rises

Shopify pricing

PlanPriceUnitNotes
Basic$39/mo monthly, $29/mo yearlyper storeOnline card 2.1% + EUR 0.30; third-party gateway fee 2%; additional staff not included
Grow$105/mo monthly, $79/mo yearlyper storeCard 1.8% + EUR 0.30; third-party fee 1%; 5 additional staff
Advanced$399/mo monthly, $299/mo yearlyper storeCard 1.6% + EUR 0.30; third-party fee 0.6%; 15 additional staff
PlusFrom EUR 2,100/mo (no USD figure on vendor page)per storeCard 1.3% + EUR 0.30; third-party fee 0.2%; unlimited staff; 1 or 3 year term options

USD yearly prices ($29/$79/$299) and monthly prices ($39/$105/$399) are from Shopify's own pricing and B2B/POS pages; the main pricing page shows EUR. Card rates in the plan notes are the EUR-page values and may differ in USD. Plus: the vendor page shows EUR 2,100 only; no USD price published. Trial shown as 3 days free then EUR 1/month for 3 months. POS Pro add-on EUR 79/mo per location.

Prices as published by Shopify on the date above. Quotes for larger teams often differ, which is what a request on SaaSBid surfaces.

Worth knowing before you buy

  • Third-party payment gateway fee is 2% on Basic and 0.2% on Plus, on top of the gateway's own fees, so gateway choice changes plan economics.
  • Basic includes no additional staff accounts; Grow adds 5, Advanced 15, Plus unlimited.
  • Plus starts at EUR 2,100/month and the FAQ offers 1 or 3 year terms.
  • Yearly billing cuts the headline price by roughly 25%.
  • SSO and SCIM are not stated on the public pricing page.

Shopify alternatives

Sources