SaaSBid.io

Commerce and websites

Best Ecommerce Platforms in 2026: 12 Tools Compared by Company Size and Requirements

Updated October 24, 2026 · 12 tools · Facts checked against vendor pages · How we review

Shopify and BigCommerce are the strongest hosted choices for brands that want a store without running servers, while WooCommerce suits teams that already work in WordPress and want full code control. Squarespace Commerce and Wix eCommerce fit small shops that care about design and an all-in-one editor. The right ecommerce platform depends mostly on team skills and sales volume.

This page is for owners, operations leads and IT managers who are choosing an ecommerce platform and want to know which products match their size and needs before talking to sales teams. The tools are grouped by company size and by requirements such as hosting, B2B selling and sales channels. Turn the requirement lists below into a request on SaaSBid, and vendors will answer with offers that fit your store instead of generic pricing pages.

Top picks by situation

  • A growing brand that wants hosting handled

    Shopify

    Four tiers run from Basic up to Plus, with staff seats rising to unlimited and card fees dropping on higher plans, so the brand can grow without replatforming.

    From: $29/month billed yearly ($39 monthly) for Basic

  • A mid-market brand selling to businesses

    BigCommerce

    Customer groups come with Growth and up, Price Lists with Performance, and the embedded payment provider fee falls to none on the top tier.

    From: $29/month billed yearly (Core), $39 monthly

  • A WordPress site adding unusual checkout logic

    WooCommerce

    The core is free, you choose your own host, and extensions are sold individually, which suits teams with developer time and no wish to share revenue.

    From: Free (core)

  • A design-led creator selling digital goods

    Squarespace Commerce

    The vendor targets brands and creators who prioritize templates, and its store fee drops to 0% from the Core plan onward.

    From: EUR 12/month (Basic, lower of the two shown figures)

  • A shop with a Square register adding web orders

    Square Online

    Point of sale and online ordering share one Square account, and the entry tier is free with fees charged per payment.

    From: Free

  • A business with a site that needs a cart

    Ecwid by Lightspeed

    Ecwid is built as a store widget for existing sites, with tiers priced by product count and marketplace listings from the Business tier.

    From: $5/month (Starter)

Ecommerce Platforms comparison table

Ecommerce Platforms compared
ToolBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialG2 rating
Adobe Commerce (Magento) Large merchants with in-house or agency developers Contact sales No No 4.0 (570 reviews)
Shift4Shop Small to mid sellers who want many built-in features at a low flat price $41/month (as advertised on homepage) Not stated Not stated 3.9 (36 reviews)
Salesforce Commerce Cloud Enterprise teams already on Salesforce who want sales-quoted B2C or B2B commerce Contact sales No No 4.3 (572 reviews)
PrestaShop European merchants wanting open source control Free (source code download) Yes No 4.3 (160 reviews)
BigCommerce Growing stores wanting B2B tools and open APIs on a hosted platform $29/month billed yearly (Core), $39 monthly No Yes 4.2 (574 reviews)
Wix eCommerce Small shops and service businesses that want site and store in one editor Free plan Yes No 4.2 (1,801 reviews)
Big Cartel Artists and small makers who want a cheap flat-fee store $15/month (Platinum) Yes Yes 4.2 (27 reviews)
Shopify Small and mid-size brands that want a hosted store without managing servers $29/month billed yearly ($39 monthly) for Basic No Yes 4.4 (4,964 reviews)
Square Online Existing Square POS merchants adding an online store Free Yes Not stated 4.2 (478 reviews)
WooCommerce Merchants already on WordPress who want full code control Free (core) Yes No 4.4 (1,278 reviews)
Squarespace Commerce Brands and creators that prioritize templates and design EUR 12/month (Basic, lower of the two shown figures) No Yes 4.4 (1,135 reviews)
Ecwid by Lightspeed Sites that already exist and need a cart added $5/month (Starter) No Not stated 4.7 (402 reviews)

What are ecommerce platforms?

Online stores run on ecommerce platform software, which keeps product data, renders the storefront, collects payment at checkout and passes orders to shipping. Staff use it daily to publish listings, adjust prices, pack parcels and review revenue. Vendor-hosted products look after servers and upgrades themselves. Open-source ones, such as WooCommerce or PrestaShop, give a company the source code and also the maintenance chores. Everyone from independent makers to wholesalers and global retailers depends on an ecommerce platform, but the depth they need varies enormously.

Core capabilities

  • Product catalog management

    Stores products, variants, images and prices, and lets staff update them in bulk.

  • Checkout and payments

    Takes card and wallet payments through a built-in processor or an outside gateway, and applies taxes and discounts.

  • Order and shipping handling

    Tracks each order from purchase to delivery and prints labels or hands data to fulfillment partners.

  • Storefront themes and design control

    Provides templates and code access so the shop matches the brand.

  • Sales channels and marketplaces

    Pushes products to social networks, marketplaces and a physical point of sale.

  • Apps, extensions and APIs

    Adds features such as marketing, accounting or ERP links without custom development.

The 12 best ecommerce platforms, reviewed

1

Developer-heavy retailers pick Adobe Commerce, the Magento-based product sold strictly by quote. It handles intricate catalogs and B2B rules. Tiny shops without technical budget, and anyone who wants a published price list, will struggle.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: poor fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Large merchants with in-house or agency developers
  • Complex catalogs and B2B needing deep customization

Look elsewhere if

  • Small stores without developer budget
  • Buyers needing published prices

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Cloud-hosted or self-managed (not confirmed by the vendor)
Pricing model and transparency
Quote-based
Target company size
Enterprise / upper mid-market

Full Adobe Commerce (Magento) profileRequest an offer

2

Shift4Shop

$41/month (as advertised on homepage)

Once called 3dcart, Shift4Shop advertises one flat plan at $41 a month. Listed extras include 100+ free themes, free SSL, free domain registration and Facebook, eBay and Amazon links. Request written contract terms before signing.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small to mid sellers who want many built-in features at a low flat price

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams that need verified pricing terms before buying

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Hosted SaaS
Themes and customization
100+ free themes, free SSL, free domain registration
Multichannel and marketplace selling
Facebook, eBay, Amazon integrations
SEO and site performance
SEO-optimized templates
Pricing model and transparency
Single advertised unlimited plan at $41/month

Full Shift4Shop profileRequest an offer

3

Enterprise teams that already run on Salesforce buy Commerce Cloud through sales quotes only. The B2C Premium and B2B Growth editions are sold separately. Small shops looking for public self-serve pricing will find no fit.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: poor fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Enterprise teams already on Salesforce who want sales-quoted B2C or B2B commerce

Look elsewhere if

  • Small shops that need public self-serve pricing

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Salesforce-hosted SaaS
B2B and wholesale features
Separate B2B Growth Edition is sold
Pricing model and transparency
Contact for pricing; separate B2C Premium and B2B Growth editions
Target company size
Mid-market and enterprise (inferred from quote-only sales; not stated by vendor)

Full Salesforce Commerce Cloud profileRequest an offer

4

PrestaShop

Free (source code download)

From France comes PrestaShop, open-source software whose core is a free download. Modules, themes and hosting cost money, with thousands of modules on offer. European merchants and developers who accept technical upkeep in return for control are its core audience.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • European merchants wanting open source control
  • Developers building customized stores

Look elsewhere if

  • Merchants wanting a fully managed platform with no technical upkeep
  • Teams needing a huge ecosystem of US apps

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Self-hosted (open source) or vendor-hosted offer
Themes and customization
Marketplace modules and themes
App and integration ecosystem
Thousands of modules and themes per vendor homepage
Pricing model and transparency
Free core, paid modules and hosting
Target company size
Small to mid-size

Full PrestaShop profileRequest an offer

5

BigCommerce

$29/month billed yearly (Core), $39 monthly

Sales volume decides which BigCommerce plan you sit on, because caps track trailing twelve month revenue and Scale adds a 0.9% overage. Core is $29 monthly when billed yearly. Growing merchants like its built-in B2B tooling and open APIs.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Growing stores wanting B2B tools and open APIs on a hosted platform
  • Merchants that want no transaction fee on embedded payment providers
  • Mid-market brands expecting to cross sales tiers

Look elsewhere if

  • Merchants who dislike sales-based plan caps and forced upgrades
  • Tiny stores wanting the cheapest possible plan

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Hosted SaaS
Payment processing and transaction fees
Card rates from 2.89% + $0.29 (Amex 3.50%); Open Payment Provider fee 2.0% / 1.0% / 0.6% / none by plan
B2B and wholesale features
Price Lists on Performance only; customer groups on Growth and up
Scalability and checkout limits
Sales caps: $30K, $100K TTM GMV, $33,333/month on Scale; 0.9% overage on Scale
Pricing model and transparency
Tiered with GMV caps, about 25% discount yearly
Target company size
Small to enterprise

Full BigCommerce profileRequest an offer

6

Wix eCommerce

Free plan

Wix eCommerce turns the familiar Wix editor into a shop through the Core, Business and Business Elite plans, with storage of 50 GB, 100 GB or unlimited. Owners who lack a developer and want bookings beside products like it. Large B2B or ERP-heavy catalogs outgrow it.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: poor fit
  • 500+: poor fit

Best for

  • Small shops and service businesses that want site and store in one editor
  • Owners with no developer
  • Businesses that need bookings next to a store

Look elsewhere if

  • Large catalogs needing complex B2B or ERP workflows
  • Teams wanting self-hosting

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Hosted SaaS
Scalability and checkout limits
Storage 50 GB / 100 GB / unlimited by plan
Pricing model and transparency
Yearly prepaid tiers; domain voucher only on first purchase
Target company size
Small business

Full Wix eCommerce profileRequest an offer

7

Big Cartel

$15/month (Platinum)

Makers and artists are the audience for Big Cartel. Gold is free, Platinum is $15 and Diamond is $30 per month, and Diamond unlocks Zapier links to 7,000+ apps. B2B needs and multichannel selling are not what this builder is for.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: workable
  • 51-500: poor fit
  • 500+: poor fit

Best for

  • Artists and small makers who want a cheap flat-fee store

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing B2B or multichannel features

Key features

App and integration ecosystem
Zapier connections to 7,000+ apps on Diamond
Pricing model and transparency
Flat monthly plans: free Gold, $15 Platinum, $30 Diamond
Target company size
Small sellers and makers (inferred)

Full Big Cartel profileRequest an offer

8

Shopify

$29/month billed yearly ($39 monthly) for Basic

Plan names on Shopify run Basic, Grow, Advanced and Plus, with Basic at $29 per month on yearly billing. Card fees shrink on pricier plans, whereas outside gateways add 2% on Basic. Staff seats move from none to unlimited on Plus.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Small and mid-size brands that want a hosted store without managing servers
  • Merchants that will use Shopify Payments to avoid the third-party gateway fee
  • Brands that need a path from a cheap plan to Plus without replatforming

Look elsewhere if

  • Merchants that must use an outside payment gateway at low volume (2% extra fee on Basic)
  • Teams needing full server-level control of code and data
  • Anyone expecting SSO details on the public pricing page (not stated there)

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Hosted SaaS
Payment processing and transaction fees
Shopify Payments online card 2.1% + EUR 0.30 on Basic down to 1.3% + EUR 0.30 on Plus; third-party gateways add 2% / 1% / 0.6% / 0.2% by plan
Scalability and checkout limits
Staff seats rise from none (Basic) to 5, 15 and unlimited (Plus)
Pricing model and transparency
Four tiers, about 25% cheaper when paid yearly; fees fall as plan rises
Target company size
Starter stores to enterprise (Plus)

Full Shopify profileRequest an offer

9

Merchants with a Square register can add web orders through Square Online, which shares one account with point of sale and payments. The free tier charges per payment, and Plus reduces processing fees. It is a natural next step for existing Square users.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: no data
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Existing Square POS merchants adding an online store

Look elsewhere if

  • Merchants who want to use a third-party processor (not confirmed by the vendor)

Key features

Multichannel and marketplace selling
POS plus online ordering or booking site in one Square account
Pricing model and transparency
Free tier with pay-per-payment fees; Plus plan lowers processing fees

Full Square Online profileRequest an offer

10

WooCommerce

Free (core)

WordPress site owners can bolt WooCommerce on at no license cost and keep full control over code. What you actually fund is a host, paid add-ons (each between $29 and $299 yearly) and a payment processor. If nobody can handle upgrades and security, it turns into a burden.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Merchants already on WordPress who want full code control
  • Stores with unusual product or checkout logic that justifies developer time
  • Merchants wanting no platform revenue share

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams without anyone to handle hosting, updates and security
  • Merchants wanting one vendor to call for everything

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Self-hosted on WordPress (host of your choice)
Payment processing and transaction fees
WooPayments about 2.50-2.90% + 30 cents; other gateways add no WooCommerce fee
App and integration ecosystem
Extensions sold a la carte at $29-$299/year each
Scalability and checkout limits
No product variant limits per vendor page; depends on your hosting
Pricing model and transparency
Free core, costs shift to hosting, extensions and processor
Target company size
Small to large, developer-led

Full WooCommerce profileRequest an offer

11

Squarespace Commerce

EUR 12/month (Basic, lower of the two shown figures)

Brands and creators pick Squarespace Commerce for its templates. Core, Plus and Advanced plans add selling, with store fees and card rates falling as plans rise and code injection arriving at Core. A 14-day trial is offered, though app choice is narrow.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: poor fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Brands and creators that prioritize templates and design
  • Small stores wanting site and store from one vendor
  • Sellers of digital content or memberships

Look elsewhere if

  • Stores wanting extensive app marketplaces or advanced B2B
  • Basic plan users needing custom code (not included)

Key features

Hosted versus self-hosted
Hosted SaaS
Payment processing and transaction fees
Basic 2% store fee + 2.0% + EUR 0.25 card; Core 0% store fee; Advanced card 1.5% + EUR 0.25
Themes and customization
CSS/JS and code injection from Core up
Scalability and checkout limits
Unlimited product sales on Basic per vendor page
Pricing model and transparency
Four tiers, fee falls as plan rises
Target company size
Small business

Full Squarespace Commerce profileRequest an offer

12

Ecwid by Lightspeed

$5/month (Starter)

Ecwid by Lightspeed works as a store widget dropped onto a site you already have, or as a standalone store. Tiers follow product count (10, 100, 2,500, unlimited). Marketplaces open up on Business and point of sale on Unlimited. No free plan exists.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Sites that already exist and need a cart added

Look elsewhere if

  • Merchants needing a free plan

Key features

Multichannel and marketplace selling
Instagram/Facebook from Venture; Amazon, eBay, Walmart marketplaces from Business; POS from Unlimited
B2B and wholesale features
Wholesale pricing groups from Business; no separate B2B plan
Scalability and checkout limits
Staff accounts: 2 on Business, unlimited on Unlimited
Pricing model and transparency
Flat tiers by product limit (10 / 100 / 2,500 / unlimited)

Full Ecwid by Lightspeed profileRequest an offer

How to choose ecommerce platforms

Hosted versus self-hosted

This describes who runs the servers, applies updates and carries security duties. Hosted platforms take that work off the merchant, while self-hosted software allows full code control in return for upkeep. Weak fits are teams that choose self-hosting without anyone to maintain it.

Payment processing and transaction fees

This looks at the percentage and fixed fee charged on each order, and whether outside gateways cost extra. Strong platforms lower rates on higher plans or add no platform fee. Weak ones add a surcharge for gateways at low volume, which erodes margin.

Themes and customization

Customization covers templates, code access and how far the storefront can be bent to a brand. Strong tools offer polished themes plus code injection or full source access. Weak ones lock the design on entry plans or force developer work for small changes.

App and integration ecosystem

This measures the range of apps, modules and connectors that add features such as marketing, shipping or ERP links. Strong platforms have large catalogs and open APIs. Weak ones leave gaps that require custom development.

Multichannel and marketplace selling

Multichannel support means listing products on marketplaces, social networks and a physical point of sale from one catalog. Strong platforms sync stock across channels natively. Weak ones need separate tools or hold channels back for higher tiers.

SEO and site performance

This covers editable URLs, metadata, structured data and page speed. Strong platforms let you control each of these and keep redirects intact during migration. Weak ones fix URL patterns or slow pages with heavy scripts.

B2B and wholesale features

B2B features include customer groups, price lists, quotes and payment terms for business buyers. Strong platforms offer these natively or as a dedicated edition. Weak ones rely on workarounds that make wholesale ordering clumsy.

Scalability and checkout limits

Scalability looks at how the platform behaves as traffic, catalog size and staff grow. Strong products raise limits smoothly without a rebuild. Weak ones impose sales caps, overage charges or seat limits that force an upgrade at awkward moments.

Pricing model and transparency

This criterion covers how the platform is billed, from flat plans to tiers with sales caps and add-ons. Strong models make the total cost predictable, including apps and fees. Weak ones hide costs in extensions, hosting or transaction charges.

Target company size

This shows the store size a platform was designed for. Light tools suit solo sellers, while enterprise platforms add developer tooling and sales-led contracts. A mismatch means paying for unused depth or outgrowing the product.

The SaaSBid view

Which ecommerce platforms tool fits your company size

Fit of each tool by company size
Tool1-10 people11-50 people51-500 people500+ people
Adobe Commerce (Magento)Poor fitPoor fitStrong fitStrong fit
Shift4ShopStrong fitStrong fitWorkableNo data
Salesforce Commerce CloudPoor fitPoor fitStrong fitStrong fit
PrestaShopWorkableStrong fitStrong fitNo data
BigCommerceWorkableStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
Wix eCommerceStrong fitStrong fitPoor fitPoor fit
Big CartelStrong fitWorkablePoor fitPoor fit
ShopifyStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
Square OnlineStrong fitStrong fitNo dataNo data
WooCommerceWorkableStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
Squarespace CommerceStrong fitStrong fitPoor fitNo data
Ecwid by LightspeedStrong fitStrong fitWorkableNo data

Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor

Ratings follow each vendor's stated audience, plan structure, sales caps and staff seat limits, plus whether enterprise-style editions exist. Cells stay empty where the vendor gives no signal for that company size.

  • 1-10 people

    Setup speed and low fixed cost matter most. Big Cartel, Square Online, Wix eCommerce and Squarespace Commerce are built for small sellers, and Shopify offers a Basic tier that can grow later. Ecwid works if a website already exists.

  • 11-50 people

    Staff access, channel reach and fee structure start to count. Shopify, BigCommerce, WooCommerce, PrestaShop and Shift4Shop all suit this range. Compare how card fees change by plan, since volume now makes them a larger cost than the subscription.

  • 51-500 people

    Catalog depth, B2B pricing and integrations drive the decision. BigCommerce offers customer groups and Price Lists, Shopify has a path to Plus, and WooCommerce or PrestaShop fit teams with developers. Adobe Commerce and Salesforce Commerce Cloud appear at the upper end.

  • 500+ people

    Large merchants need dedicated support, custom workflows and sales-quoted contracts. Adobe Commerce, Salesforce Commerce Cloud, Shopify Plus and BigCommerce Performance are the options with enterprise positioning. Ask each about SSO and API limits, which public pages often skip.

Feature coverage at a glance

Documented features by tool
ToolHosted versus self-hostedPayment processing and transaction feesThemes and customizationApp and integration ecosystemMultichannel and marketplace sellingSEO and site performanceB2B and wholesale featuresScalability and checkout limitsShare
Adobe Commerce (Magento)Documented: Cloud-hosted or self-managed (not confirmed by the vendor)Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented13%
Shift4ShopDocumented: Hosted SaaSNot documentedDocumented: 100+ free themes, free SSL, free domain registrationNot documentedDocumented: Facebook, eBay, Amazon integrationsDocumented: SEO-optimized templatesNot documentedNot documented50%
Salesforce Commerce CloudDocumented: Salesforce-hosted SaaSNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Separate B2B Growth Edition is soldNot documented25%
PrestaShopDocumented: Self-hosted (open source) or vendor-hosted offerNot documentedDocumented: Marketplace modules and themesDocumented: Thousands of modules and themes per vendor homepageNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented38%
BigCommerceDocumented: Hosted SaaSDocumented: Card rates from 2.89% + $0.29 (Amex 3.50%); Open Payment Provider fee 2.0% / 1.0% / 0.6% / none by planNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Price Lists on Performance only; customer groups on Growth and upDocumented: Sales caps: $30K, $100K TTM GMV, $33,333/month on Scale; 0.9% overage on Scale50%
Wix eCommerceDocumented: Hosted SaaSNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Storage 50 GB / 100 GB / unlimited by plan25%
Big CartelNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Zapier connections to 7,000+ apps on DiamondNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented13%
ShopifyDocumented: Hosted SaaSDocumented: Shopify Payments online card 2.1% + EUR 0.30 on Basic down to 1.3% + EUR 0.30 on Plus; third-party gateways add 2% / 1% / 0.6% / 0.2% by planNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Staff seats rise from none (Basic) to 5, 15 and unlimited (Plus)38%
Square OnlineNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: POS plus online ordering or booking site in one Square accountNot documentedNot documentedNot documented13%
WooCommerceDocumented: Self-hosted on WordPress (host of your choice)Documented: WooPayments about 2.50-2.90% + 30 cents; other gateways add no WooCommerce feeNot documentedDocumented: Extensions sold a la carte at $29-$299/year eachNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: No product variant limits per vendor page; depends on your hosting50%
Squarespace CommerceDocumented: Hosted SaaSDocumented: Basic 2% store fee + 2.0% + EUR 0.25 card; Core 0% store fee; Advanced card 1.5% + EUR 0.25Documented: CSS/JS and code injection from Core upNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Unlimited product sales on Basic per vendor page50%
Ecwid by LightspeedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Instagram/Facebook from Venture; Amazon, eBay, Walmart marketplaces from Business; POS from UnlimitedNot documentedDocumented: Wholesale pricing groups from Business; no separate B2B planDocumented: Staff accounts: 2 on Business, unlimited on Unlimited38%

A check means the vendor documents the capability publicly (hover for the detail). A dash means we found no public documentation, which is a question to put in your request, not proof the feature is missing.

Ecommerce Platforms requirements checklist

Use this list to write down what your team actually needs. Sorting requirements into must-have, should-have and nice-to-have is what lets vendors quote accurately instead of pitching their biggest plan.

Must have

  • Hosted checkout with cards and local walletsPayment options and the processor chosen decide conversion and the fee on every order.
  • Product catalog supporting our number of SKUs and variantsSome plans cap products or staff accounts, which changes which tier fits.
  • Tax, shipping rate and label setup for our target countriesRegional tax handling and carrier links differ and affect launch effort.
  • Staff accounts with limited permissionsSeat counts are often tied to the plan tier.
  • Migration of existing products, customers and URLsRedirect handling protects search traffic and affects onboarding time.

Should have

  • Native listings on Amazon, social channels or POSChannel support is often reserved for mid-level plans.
  • Customer groups or price lists for wholesale buyersB2B pricing tools sit on higher tiers or in separate editions.
  • Open API for ERP and inventory syncRate limits and access rules vary by plan.
  • Control over URLs, metadata and page speedOrganic traffic depends on these settings staying editable.

Nice to have

  • Custom code or checkout extensionsUseful for unusual order logic, though it may require a higher plan.
  • Subscriptions or memberships for recurring revenueNot every platform supports these natively.
  • Booking features next to the shopHelps service businesses that sell products too.

Turn this checklist into a request

Questions vendors will ask you

Have answers ready for these, and your first conversation with a vendor starts at pricing instead of discovery.

  1. What is your expected yearly online revenue and order volume?Some plans are capped by sales and card fees depend on volume.
  2. How many products and variants will you list at launch?Product limits and import effort differ between platforms.
  3. Do you sell to consumers, to businesses or both?B2B price lists and net terms often need a specific edition.
  4. Which payment provider do you want to use?Third-party gateways can add an extra fee on lower plans.
  5. Do you have developers, or should the vendor or an agency build the store?Open-source and enterprise products assume technical staff.
  6. Which systems must connect, such as ERP, accounting or a warehouse?Integration needs decide between app stores and custom API work.

Example request

What a strong ecommerce platforms request looks like
We are a 30-person home goods brand with about 1,200 products and 6,000 orders per month, currently running on an aging self-hosted store that nobody on the team wants to maintain. We need a hosted platform with strong checkout, product variants, tax handling for the US and Canada, and staff accounts with limited permissions. About a fifth of our revenue comes from wholesale customers, so customer-specific pricing matters. We must connect to our ERP and a shipping tool, and we sell through Amazon as well. We want to relaunch within twelve weeks, keep our current URLs, and expect a budget in the low five figures per year.

Write your own request

More vendors listed on SaaSBid

  • ShopComplianceImplement GPSR, PPWR, Green Claims, the Cyber Resilience Act, BFSG, and 73 EU disclosure requirements in your Shopify store with just a few clicks. A module stack,

Ecommerce Platforms FAQ

What is an ecommerce platform?

Software that powers an online shop is an ecommerce platform. It stores the catalog, takes payment at checkout, tracks orders and connects with carriers, marketplaces and registers. Some run on the vendor's servers; others are installed and maintained by the merchant.

What is the best ecommerce platform for small business?

It depends on skills and goals. Shopify and Squarespace Commerce suit brands that want a hosted store, Big Cartel works for artists on a tight budget, and Square Online fits shops already using Square registers. WooCommerce makes sense for teams already on WordPress.

Is there a free ecommerce platform?

Square Online, Big Cartel's Gold plan and the Wix free plan cost nothing to start, and WooCommerce and PrestaShop have free cores. Hosting, extensions or payment fees then apply, so a free start rarely means a free store.

What features should an ecommerce platform have?

A product catalog, secure checkout, tax and shipping setup, order handling and basic reports come first. After that, check integrations, sales channels, URL control and staff permissions, since they decide how much manual work stays.

Which ecommerce platform is best for B2B selling?

BigCommerce lists customer groups and Price Lists. Adobe Commerce and Salesforce Commerce Cloud aim at complex B2B, while Ecwid offers wholesale pricing groups starting at Business. Describe your buyers and payment terms so vendors reply precisely.

What should I include in an ecommerce platform request for offers?

State your revenue and order volume, product count, target countries, payment provider, channels, integrations, migration needs and timeline. Add whether you have developers. Vendors can then quote the right plan or edition.

The bottom line

Start by deciding whether you want a hosted platform or software you maintain yourself, then remove products that lack your must-haves such as B2B pricing or channel support. Two or three finalists usually remain. A clear request on SaaSBid lets vendors quote the right plan, payment setup and migration scope, so the offers are easier to compare.

Related categories