SaaSBid.io

IT, data and security

Best Mobile Device Management Software in 2026: 12 Tools Compared by Company Size and Requirements

Updated October 24, 2026 · 12 tools · Facts checked against vendor pages · How we review

Small fleets can begin with ManageEngine MDM Plus, whose free edition stops at 25 devices, or with Mosyle if everything is Apple, where 30 devices cost nothing. Microsoft 365 E3 and E5 customers should check Intune first, and mixed fleets with kiosks suit Hexnode or 42Gears.

This page is for IT managers and owners who need MDM software to control phones, tablets and laptops, and who want to know which product fits their fleet before talking to vendors. The tools are grouped by company size and by requirements such as operating systems, enrollment method and identity links. Copy the requirement lists into a request on SaaSBid, describe your devices, and compare the offers you get back.

Top picks by situation

  • A 20-person company with mixed phones

    ManageEngine MDM Plus

    The free edition handles up to 25 devices running iOS, Android or Windows, and the vendor lists Apple's ABM program plus Android zero-touch enrollment.

    From: Free up to 25 devices

  • A small agency running only Apple devices

    Mosyle

    Thirty devices are free, paid plans begin at $1 for each device per month, and the tool manages macOS, iOS, iPadOS and tvOS.

    From: Free up to 30 devices

  • A 200-person firm on Microsoft 365 E3

    Microsoft Intune

    Intune Plan 1 is already inside E3 and E5, and it supports Windows Autopilot plus conditional access through Entra ID.

    From: $8.00 per user per month (Intune Plan 1 standalone)

  • A retailer with kiosks and frontline phones

    Hexnode

    Public pricing starts at $2.20 per device monthly, kiosk mode is in the entry plan, and Android Enterprise and Knox enrollment appear in Pro.

    From: $2.20 per device per month (Pro)

  • A warehouse with rugged Android scanners

    42Gears SureMDM

    Rugged Android, kiosk and scanner fleets are its home turf, an on-premise license is available, and a third-party listing shows Standard at $3.99 per device monthly.

    From: $3.99 per device per month (Standard, third-party listing)

  • A 400-person company with a Mac admin team

    Jamf Pro

    It was built around Apple fleets, handles Apple Business Manager enrollment, and admin sign-in works over SAML or OIDC.

    From: Contact sales

Mobile Device Management Software comparison table

Mobile Device Management Software compared
ToolBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialG2 rating
Omnissa Workspace One Large enterprises with mixed fleets including Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, ChromeOS and Linux Contact sales No No 4.0 (40 reviews)
ManageEngine MDM Plus Small teams with up to 25 devices that need a free full-featured MDM Free up to 25 devices Yes Yes 4.5 (NaN reviews)
NinjaOne MSPs and IT teams managing mostly Windows/Mac endpoints that want RMM plus MDM Contact sales (rates cited from $3.75 per endpoint at 50 or fewer… No Yes 4.7 (4,584 reviews)
IBM MaaS360 Mid-size and large fleets that want tiered per-device editions with published list prices From $1.50 per device per month (Fast Start) No Yes 4.2 (212 reviews)
42Gears SureMDM Android and rugged or kiosk device fleets $3.99 per device per month (Standard, third-party listing) No Yes 4.8 (94 reviews)
Microsoft Intune Companies already on Microsoft 365 E3 or E5, where Intune Plan 1 is already included $8.00 per user per month (Intune Plan 1 standalone) No No 4.5 (NaN reviews)
Miradore Very small fleets via the free tier (third-party sources say up to 50 devices) Free (per third-party sources) Yes Yes 4.6 (141 reviews)
Hexnode Small and mid-size mixed-OS fleets that want public per-device pricing $2.20 per device per month (Pro) No Yes 4.5 (NaN reviews)
Scalefusion Small and mid-size IT teams that want published per-device prices $2 per device per month (Essential, billed annually) No Yes 4.7 (404 reviews)
Mosyle Schools and small businesses managing only Apple devices Free up to 30 devices Yes Yes 4.6 (52 reviews)
Jamf Pro Mid-size and large Apple-centric fleets with a dedicated Mac admin Contact sales No Yes 4.7 (2,093 reviews)
JumpCloud Small and mid-size IT teams that want directory, SSO and MDM from one vendor $9 per user per month billed annually (Device Management package) No Yes 4.5 (4,043 reviews)

What is mobile device management software?

MDM software lets IT put company rules on devices without touching each one. After a phone, tablet or laptop is enrolled, the system pushes Wi-Fi and email settings, requires a passcode and encryption, installs approved apps and checks that the device still follows policy. If someone loses a device, IT can lock it or erase the company data remotely. IT staff, MSPs and school administrators use it daily. Many products now manage laptops too and are sold as UEM, but the core job of enrolling, configuring and securing devices stays the same.

Core capabilities

  • Device enrollment

    Registers company and personal devices, ideally so that new hardware configures itself on first boot using Apple, Android or Windows programs.

  • Policy and compliance enforcement

    Requires passcodes, encryption and OS updates, and cuts off access for any device that stops meeting the rules.

  • App distribution

    Pushes required apps, removes unwanted ones and controls what users can install.

  • Remote lock, wipe and support

    Locks or erases lost devices and lets IT view or control a screen to fix problems.

  • Kiosk and shared device mode

    Restricts a device to one app or a small set of apps for retail, field work or classrooms.

  • Identity and directory links

    Connects with Entra ID, Active Directory or Google Workspace so access rules follow the device state.

The 12 best mobile device management software, reviewed

1

Note: Workspace ONE was VMware's product; the End-User Computing unit was sold by Broadcom to KKR

Omnissa Workspace One, previously VMware Workspace ONE, is a unified endpoint suite for large enterprises that spans Linux, ChromeOS, Android, iOS, macOS and Windows, along with rugged devices and kiosks. Licenses are per device or user by edition, quoted. Reviewers report weaker support and opaque reseller pricing.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: poor fit
  • 51-500: no data
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Large enterprises with mixed fleets including Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, ChromeOS and Linux
  • Organizations already using Horizon virtual desktops
  • Teams with a reseller or volume licensing relationship

Look elsewhere if

  • Small teams needing public price lists and self-serve signup
  • Buyers worried about support quality (reviewers cite weaker support after the rename)

Key features

OS and device coverage
Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, ChromeOS, Linux; also rugged, IoT/XR, kiosks, printers
Zero-touch enrollment
Vendor mentions zero-touch onboarding in automated lifecycle workflows
Security policy and compliance enforcement
Automated compliance workflows with conditional access signals
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
Microsoft Entra integration not described on the UEM page
Pricing model and real cost
Per device (or per user) licenses by edition, quote-based
Target company size
Enterprise

What users like

  • Broad device and OS management
  • Automation tooling

Common complaints

  • Support and documentation reportedly declined after the VMware to Omnissa move
  • Clumsy interface
  • Opaque, reseller-driven pricing

Full Omnissa Workspace One profileRequest an offer

2

ManageEngine MDM Plus

Free up to 25 devices

ManageEngine MDM Plus belongs to Zoho's ManageEngine line, and its free edition stops at 25 devices. Cloud Standard starts at $645 a year for 50 devices, and on-premises editions exist. Supported systems include ChromeOS, tvOS, Windows and Apple platforms, although a G2 summary calls the Apple side limited.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small teams with up to 25 devices that need a free full-featured MDM
  • Mixed iOS, Android, Windows fleets that want on-premises or cloud choice

Look elsewhere if

  • Apple-first shops that need deepest Apple feature coverage (G2 summary notes limited Apple support)
  • Buyers who need SSO and audit-log details published up front

Key features

OS and device coverage
iOS, iPadOS, Android, Windows, macOS, tvOS, ChromeOS (FAQ)
Zero-touch enrollment
Apple Business Manager and Android Zero Touch Enrollment (FAQ)
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
Active Directory integration via Zoho Directory Sync connector (cloud)
Pricing model and real cost
Device-count bands plus technician licenses
Target company size
Small to mid-size; free for 25 devices, bands up to 10,000

What users like

  • Easy to use and administer
  • Strong Android support and setup ease (G2 awards claim, vendor page)

Common complaints

  • Apple device support seen as limited by some reviewers (G2 summary)

Full ManageEngine MDM Plus profileRequest an offer

3

NinjaOne

Contact sales (rates cited from $3.75 per endpoint at 50 or fewer…

NinjaOne started as remote monitoring software for MSPs and IT departments and offers MDM as a selectable product, priced per endpoint by quote. Cited rates run from $3.75 at 50 endpoints or fewer down to $1.50 at 10,000. Reviewers praise the dashboard but call its mobile device management limited.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • MSPs and IT teams managing mostly Windows/Mac endpoints that want RMM plus MDM
  • Teams that want no implementation fees and free support

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers needing standalone deep mobile MDM (reviewers cite limited mobile/device management)
  • Teams wanting fully public pricing

Key features

Pricing model and real cost
Per endpoint with volume tiers
Target company size
Small to enterprise, strong MSP base

What users like

  • Clean dashboard and navigation
  • Automated updates, alerts and customer support

Common complaints

  • Limited mobile app and mobile device management
  • Weak search and missing client portal features

Full NinjaOne profileRequest an offer

4

IBM MaaS360

From $1.50 per device per month (Fast Start)

IBM MaaS360 is a cloud UEM sold per device monthly across six tiers, from Fast Start at $1.50 to Essentials at $4.24 list. A 30-day trial is available. Users value central multi-platform control and security but cite a steep learning curve and dated interface.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: workable
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Mid-size and large fleets that want tiered per-device editions with published list prices
  • Teams that want a 30-day free trial before committing
  • Mixed-device fleets needing multi-OS management

Look elsewhere if

  • Small teams needing free or flat pricing
  • Buyers who want a modern, quickly learned admin console (reviewers cite a steep learning curve and dated UI)

Key features

OS and device coverage
Multi-OS (phones, tablets, laptops); specific OS list not on pricing page
Security policy and compliance enforcement
Automated compliance; Premier adds app security
App distribution and management
Mobile app management from Fast Start; patching in Enterprise
Remote lock, wipe and support
TeamViewer remote support is a paid add-on on Essentials to Enterprise
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
Identity management included from Essentials; Microsoft 365 integration not stated on page
Pricing model and real cost
Per client device per month, 6 tiers
Target company size
SMB (Fast Start) to enterprise

What users like

  • Easy to use once set up
  • Centralized multi-platform management
  • Strong security controls

Common complaints

  • Steep learning curve and dated interface
  • Cost higher than some alternatives
  • Some performance slowness

Full IBM MaaS360 profileRequest an offer

5

42Gears SureMDM

$3.99 per device per month (Standard, third-party listing)

42Gears SureMDM manages Android, iOS, Windows, macOS, Linux, Wear OS and VR devices, with strength in rugged and kiosk fleets. Three tiers are billed per device monthly, and an on-premise option exists. Remote access (SureAccess) is a paid add-on, and listed prices come from third parties.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • Android and rugged or kiosk device fleets
  • Teams needing on-premise licensing as an option
  • Mixed OS fleets incl. Linux, Wear OS and VR

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers who need prices confirmed by the vendor (list prices come from third-party listings)
  • Teams wanting remote access included (SureAccess is an add-on)

Key features

OS and device coverage
Android, iOS, Windows, macOS, Linux, Chrome, Wear OS, VR, IoT (KuppingerCole)
Remote lock, wipe and support
SureAccess remote access add-on, $1.99 per device per month (third-party)
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
SureIdP add-on, $3.49 per user per month (third-party)
Pricing model and real cost
Per device per month, three tiers; on-premise option
Target company size
SMB to enterprise

What users like

  • User-friendly console and easy enrollment
  • Strong Android support
  • Responsive support

Common complaints

  • Some summaries note less depth in overall device management
  • Remote wipe less intuitive per one comparison

Full 42Gears SureMDM profileRequest an offer

6

Microsoft Intune

$8.00 per user per month (Intune Plan 1 standalone)

Microsoft Intune covers Linux, ChromeOS, Android, iOS, macOS and Windows, and arrives bundled with Microsoft 365 E3 and E5. Standalone Plan 1 costs $8 per user monthly. Remote Help and an enterprise app catalog cost extra, and licensing across the plans confuses some reviewers.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: workable
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Companies already on Microsoft 365 E3 or E5, where Intune Plan 1 is already included
  • Windows-heavy fleets that want Autopilot and Entra conditional access

Look elsewhere if

  • Apple-only shops that want deep Apple day-one feature support
  • Very small teams that want a simple flat per-device price

Key features

OS and device coverage
Windows, macOS, iOS/iPadOS, Android (Enterprise and AOSP), Linux (Ubuntu 24.04/26.04, RHEL 9/10), ChromeOS
Zero-touch enrollment
Apple automated device enrollment, Android Enterprise, Windows Autopilot, Samsung Knox Mobile Enrollment (per Microsoft docs)
Security policy and compliance enforcement
Compliance policies and conditional access with Entra ID; app protection policies not supported on ChromeOS
App distribution and management
App deployment; Enterprise Application Management add-on ($2.00/user/month) adds a hosted app catalog
Remote lock, wipe and support
Remote Help is a paid add-on ($3.50/user/month); standard remote lock/wipe not confirmed by the vendor
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
Native with Microsoft Entra ID; Entra is an implicit dependency
Pricing model and real cost
Per user per month; standalone Plan 1 $8.00; most buyers get it inside M365 E3/E5
Target company size
Any size; strongest fit for Microsoft 365 organizations

What users like

  • Tight fit with Microsoft 365, Entra and conditional access
  • Strong requirements coverage and app protection features

Common complaints

  • Admin console and licensing can be confusing across plans and add-ons
  • Support rated lower than product features on G2 sub-scores (8.4 of 10)

Full Microsoft Intune profileRequest an offer

7

Miradore

Free (per third-party sources)

Miradore is a cloud MDM owned by GoTo that handles Android, iOS, Windows and Mac. Third-party sources describe a free tier up to 50 devices and paid tiers of about $2.30 to $2.75 per device monthly, though those sources conflict. MSPs use it for mixed iPad and Android tablet fleets.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: no data
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Very small fleets via the free tier (third-party sources say up to 50 devices)
  • MSPs managing mixed iPad and Android tablets
  • Teams wanting a 14-day Premium+ trial

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers wanting a modern interface (a few reviewers call it dated)
  • Buyers needing verified current prices: sources conflict

Key features

OS and device coverage
Android, iOS, Windows, macOS
Pricing model and real cost
Free tier plus per device per month (Premium, Premium+); third-party figures conflict
Target company size
SMB and MSPs

What users like

  • Manages iPads and Android tablets together
  • Free tier for small fleets

Common complaints

  • Learning curve
  • Outdated interface
  • Apple BYOD mode complaint

Full Miradore profileRequest an offer

8

Hexnode

$2.20 per device per month (Pro)

Hexnode, from Mitsogo, publishes four tiers from $2.20 per device monthly and offers a 14-day trial. Purchases begin at 15 devices. Mobile management is in every tier, but desktop control of Windows and Mac, BitLocker and patching appear only in upper tiers. G2 scores support at 9.2 of 10.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small and mid-size mixed-OS fleets that want public per-device pricing
  • Kiosk and frontline device deployments (kiosk is in the entry plan)

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing generic SAML for admin login (not supported per vendor forum)
  • Buyers who need Windows/macOS patching, which only appears in the Ultra tier

Key features

OS and device coverage
Mobile in all tiers; Windows and macOS management arrives in Enterprise (basic) and Ultimate/Ultra
Zero-touch enrollment
Apple Business Manager, Android Enterprise, ZTE Knox in Pro; Windows Autopilot in Ultimate
Security policy and compliance enforcement
BitLocker only in Ultra; FileVault in Ultimate
App distribution and management
Mobile app management in Pro; Windows/Mac app management in Ultimate
Remote lock, wipe and support
Remote view from Enterprise (mobile) and Ultimate (desktop); remote control from Ultimate (mobile) and Ultra (desktop)
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
Entra ID, Active Directory, Google Workspace directory integrations from Enterprise
Pricing model and real cost
Per device per month, tiered by feature set
Target company size
Small to mid-size (starts at 15 devices); MSP edition available

What users like

  • Strong device management and support sub-scores on G2 (9.3 and 9.2 of 10)
  • Public per-device pricing

Full Hexnode profileRequest an offer

9

Scalefusion

$2 per device per month (Essential, billed annually)

Scalefusion manages Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Linux, ChromeOS and TV devices, starting at $2 per device monthly on annual billing with a 10-device minimum. Identity (OneIdP) and security (Veltar) are separate add-ons. Reviewers like its support and kiosk controls but mention a learning curve.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • Small and mid-size IT teams that want published per-device prices
  • Android kiosk and rugged device fleets plus Windows, macOS and Linux
  • Teams wanting a 14-day full-feature trial

Look elsewhere if

  • Companies needing ChromeOS or Linux depth per some reviews
  • Buyers who need monthly billing (UEM plans are annual only)

Key features

OS and device coverage
Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Linux, ChromeOS, Android TV, Apple TV
Security policy and compliance enforcement
Veltar security add-on (from $3 per device per month)
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
OneIdP (Access Core $4, Access Pro $5 per device per month; Pro adds conditional SSO)
Pricing model and real cost
Per device per month, annual billing, 10 device minimum
Target company size
SMB to enterprise

What users like

  • Responsive support
  • Easy setup and use
  • Strong kiosk and data-separation controls

Common complaints

  • Learning curve and unclear documentation for complex setups
  • Limited Linux, ChromeOS and mobile app management per G2 summary

Full Scalefusion profileRequest an offer

10

Mosyle

Free up to 30 devices

Mosyle manages Apple devices only, across macOS, iOS, iPadOS, tvOS, watchOS and visionOS. The free tier covers 30 devices, and Business Premium is $1 per device monthly. Schools and small firms use it, and users praise support. Data is stored in US Azure, so EU hosting is unavailable.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: no data
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Schools and small businesses managing only Apple devices
  • Teams moving from another Apple MDM (6-month side-by-side trial, first-year credit)

Look elsewhere if

  • Windows or Android fleets
  • Buyers needing EU data hosting (data stored in US Azure)

Key features

OS and device coverage
macOS, iOS, iPadOS, visionOS, tvOS, watchOS (Apple only)
Security policy and compliance enforcement
Endpoint security in Fuse (feature mapping not confirmed by the vendor)
App distribution and management
Apps and patch management listed on pricing page
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
Okta and Ping SSO on admin portals (2021 report); macOS identity and SSO in Fuse
Pricing model and real cost
Per device, Apple-only
Target company size
Small business and education

What users like

  • Exceptional customer support
  • Strong requirements coverage

Common complaints

  • Setup can be difficult
  • Weak multi-system support (Apple only)

Full Mosyle profileRequest an offer

11

Jamf Pro

Contact sales

Jamf Pro is the established Apple management product, covering iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple TV, and is sold by quote. Jamf Now serves organizations under 25 employees. Users trust its documentation and community, but mention a steep learning curve and a high price, especially in education.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Mid-size and large Apple-centric fleets with a dedicated Mac admin
  • Schools and enterprises that want same-day Apple OS feature support

Look elsewhere if

  • Windows-heavy fleets
  • Very small teams with a tight budget (reviewers call it pricey)

Key features

OS and device coverage
macOS, iOS, iPadOS, visionOS, watchOS, tvOS; Android via Jamf for Mobile
Zero-touch enrollment
Apple Business Manager / automated enrollment (standard for Jamf; not itemized on pricing page)
Security policy and compliance enforcement
Endpoint protection and mobile threat defense bundled in plans
App distribution and management
App distribution included in Jamf Now; broader catalog not confirmed by the vendor
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
SAML and OIDC admin SSO; Jamf Connect for identity (separate)
Pricing model and real cost
Per device, quote-based; Jamf Now for orgs under 25 employees
Target company size
Jamf Now under 25 employees; Jamf for Mac/Mobile for mid-size and enterprise

What users like

  • Widely seen as the long-standing standard for Apple management
  • Good documentation and community support

Common complaints

  • Steep learning curve
  • Price can be high, especially for education

Full Jamf Pro profileRequest an offer

12

JumpCloud

$9 per user per month billed annually (Device Management package)

JumpCloud puts a cloud directory, SSO and MDM under one login, priced per user monthly with public module prices. The Device Management package is $9 per user on annual billing, and Platform Essentials stops at 300 users. It has no DLP or endpoint protection, and is a poor choice for standalone MDM.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small and mid-size IT teams that want directory, SSO and MDM from one vendor
  • Teams that prefer public per-user module pricing

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams that need only a standalone MDM
  • Buyers needing endpoint protection or DLP (reviewers cite lack)

Key features

Security policy and compliance enforcement
Conditional access / zero trust module $3 per user
App distribution and management
Software management not priced on page
Remote lock, wipe and support
Remote Access module $3 per user
Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
Native directory and SSO; core product
Pricing model and real cost
Per user per month, modular
Target company size
Small to mid-size; Platform Essentials limited to 300 users

What users like

  • Easy setup and centralized management

Common complaints

  • Pricing for education buyers
  • No DLP or endpoint protection

Full JumpCloud profileRequest an offer

How to choose mobile device management software

OS and device coverage

This describes which operating systems and device types the tool can manage, such as iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, ChromeOS, Linux and rugged devices. Strong tools cover your whole mix on the plan you buy. Weak ones are limited to one platform or move desktop management into a higher tier.

Zero-touch enrollment

Zero-touch enrollment means a device configures itself on first boot through Apple's, Google's, Samsung's or Microsoft's enrollment programs. Strong tools support every method your fleet needs. Weak ones require IT to touch each device.

Security policy and compliance enforcement

This is how well the tool enforces passcodes, encryption, OS updates and conditional access, and reports non-compliance. Strong tools tie device state to access decisions and show clear compliance reports. Weak ones apply a few settings with little follow-up.

App distribution and management

App management is about pushing required apps, blocking others and keeping versions current on mobile and desktop. Strong tools do all three on every platform you own. Weak ones handle mobile apps only or reserve desktop app control for premium plans.

Remote lock, wipe and support

This covers remote lock, wipe and helpdesk screen access. Strong tools make lock and wipe simple and include remote support or a clear add-on. Weak ones hide wipe in menus or require a separate product for remote help.

Identity and Microsoft 365 integration

This measures how closely the tool links with Entra ID, Active Directory, Okta or Google Workspace. Strong tools use device compliance as an input for sign-in decisions and sync groups automatically. Weak ones need manual user imports or lack SSO for admins.

Pricing model and real cost

This criterion covers how you are billed, per device or per user, by tier, with add-ons or with minimum device counts, and whether a free tier exists. Strong models are public and predictable. Weak ones add separate charges for remote support, identity or patching.

Target company size

This shows which fleet sizes a tool was designed for. Light tools suit tens of devices with simple setup and low cost, while enterprise suites add reseller channels, audit controls and long implementations. A mismatch means paying for complexity or outgrowing the product.

The SaaSBid view

Which mobile device management tool fits your company size

Fit of each tool by company size
Tool1-10 people11-50 people51-500 people500+ people
Omnissa Workspace OnePoor fitPoor fitNo dataStrong fit
ManageEngine MDM PlusStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitNo data
NinjaOneNo dataStrong fitStrong fitWorkable
IBM MaaS360Poor fitWorkableStrong fitStrong fit
42Gears SureMDMNo dataStrong fitStrong fitWorkable
Microsoft IntunePoor fitWorkableStrong fitStrong fit
MiradoreStrong fitStrong fitNo dataNo data
HexnodeNo dataStrong fitStrong fitNo data
ScalefusionWorkableStrong fitStrong fitWorkable
MosyleStrong fitStrong fitNo dataNo data
Jamf ProWorkableStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
JumpCloudNo dataStrong fitStrong fitNo data

Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor

Ratings follow each vendor's stated audience, minimum device counts, free tier limits and user caps, and whether enterprise features such as SSO, audit logs or broad OS coverage are listed. A cell stays empty when the data is silent.

  • 1-10 people

    Free tiers and fast setup matter most. ManageEngine MDM Plus (25 devices), Mosyle (30 Apple devices) and Miradore all have a free tier. Enterprise suites such as Omnissa Workspace One are a poor match.

  • 11-50 people

    Zero-touch enrollment and policy depth start to matter. Hexnode, Scalefusion, 42Gears, Mosyle, Jamf and JumpCloud are all rated for this range. Microsoft 365 users should check Intune, since it may already be licensed.

  • 51-500 people

    Identity integration, app control and remote support become decisive. Intune, MaaS360, Hexnode, Scalefusion, Jamf Pro and ManageEngine fit here. Confirm which tier unlocks Windows and macOS management, as some tools lock it in upper plans.

  • 500+ people

    Large fleets need broad OS coverage, audit controls and vendor support. Omnissa Workspace One, IBM MaaS360, Intune and Jamf Pro are aimed at this size. Ask about implementation effort and reseller terms.

Feature coverage at a glance

Documented features by tool
ToolOS and device coverageZero-touch enrollmentSecurity policy and compliance enforcementApp distribution and managementRemote lock, wipe and supportIdentity and Microsoft 365 integrationShare
Omnissa Workspace OneDocumented: Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, ChromeOS, Linux; also rugged, IoT/XR, kiosks, printersDocumented: Vendor mentions zero-touch onboarding in automated lifecycle workflowsDocumented: Automated compliance workflows with conditional access signalsNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Microsoft Entra integration not described on the UEM page67%
ManageEngine MDM PlusDocumented: iOS, iPadOS, Android, Windows, macOS, tvOS, ChromeOS (FAQ)Documented: Apple Business Manager and Android Zero Touch Enrollment (FAQ)Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Active Directory integration via Zoho Directory Sync connector (cloud)50%
NinjaOneNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented0%
IBM MaaS360Documented: Multi-OS (phones, tablets, laptops); specific OS list not on pricing pageNot documentedDocumented: Automated compliance; Premier adds app securityDocumented: Mobile app management from Fast Start; patching in EnterpriseDocumented: TeamViewer remote support is a paid add-on on Essentials to EnterpriseDocumented: Identity management included from Essentials; Microsoft 365 integration not stated on page83%
42Gears SureMDMDocumented: Android, iOS, Windows, macOS, Linux, Chrome, Wear OS, VR, IoT (KuppingerCole)Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: SureAccess remote access add-on, $1.99 per device per month (third-party)Documented: SureIdP add-on, $3.49 per user per month (third-party)50%
Microsoft IntuneDocumented: Windows, macOS, iOS/iPadOS, Android (Enterprise and AOSP), Linux (Ubuntu 24.04/26.04, RHEL 9/10), ChromeOSDocumented: Apple automated device enrollment, Android Enterprise, Windows Autopilot, Samsung Knox Mobile Enrollment (per Microsoft docs)Documented: Compliance policies and conditional access with Entra ID; app protection policies not supported on ChromeOSDocumented: App deployment; Enterprise Application Management add-on ($2.00/user/month) adds a hosted app catalogDocumented: Remote Help is a paid add-on ($3.50/user/month); standard remote lock/wipe not confirmed by the vendorDocumented: Native with Microsoft Entra ID; Entra is an implicit dependency100%
MiradoreDocumented: Android, iOS, Windows, macOSNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented17%
HexnodeDocumented: Mobile in all tiers; Windows and macOS management arrives in Enterprise (basic) and Ultimate/UltraDocumented: Apple Business Manager, Android Enterprise, ZTE Knox in Pro; Windows Autopilot in UltimateDocumented: BitLocker only in Ultra; FileVault in UltimateDocumented: Mobile app management in Pro; Windows/Mac app management in UltimateDocumented: Remote view from Enterprise (mobile) and Ultimate (desktop); remote control from Ultimate (mobile) and Ultra (desktop)Documented: Entra ID, Active Directory, Google Workspace directory integrations from Enterprise100%
ScalefusionDocumented: Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Linux, ChromeOS, Android TV, Apple TVNot documentedDocumented: Veltar security add-on (from $3 per device per month)Not documentedNot documentedDocumented: OneIdP (Access Core $4, Access Pro $5 per device per month; Pro adds conditional SSO)50%
MosyleDocumented: macOS, iOS, iPadOS, visionOS, tvOS, watchOS (Apple only)Not documentedDocumented: Endpoint security in Fuse (feature mapping not confirmed by the vendor)Documented: Apps and patch management listed on pricing pageNot documentedDocumented: Okta and Ping SSO on admin portals (2021 report); macOS identity and SSO in Fuse67%
Jamf ProDocumented: macOS, iOS, iPadOS, visionOS, watchOS, tvOS; Android via Jamf for MobileDocumented: Apple Business Manager / automated enrollment (standard for Jamf; not itemized on pricing page)Documented: Endpoint protection and mobile threat defense bundled in plansDocumented: App distribution included in Jamf Now; broader catalog not confirmed by the vendorNot documentedDocumented: SAML and OIDC admin SSO; Jamf Connect for identity (separate)83%
JumpCloudNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Conditional access / zero trust module $3 per userDocumented: Software management not priced on pageDocumented: Remote Access module $3 per userDocumented: Native directory and SSO; core product67%

A check means the vendor documents the capability publicly (hover for the detail). A dash means we found no public documentation, which is a question to put in your request, not proof the feature is missing.

Mobile Device Management Software requirements checklist

Use this list to write down what your team actually needs. Sorting requirements into must-have, should-have and nice-to-have is what lets vendors quote accurately instead of pitching their biggest plan.

Must have

  • Management of iOS, iPadOS and Android phones and tablets, plus our Windows and macOS laptopsOS coverage differs sharply, and some tools reserve desktop management for upper tiers.
  • Hands-off device setup through Apple, Android and Windows enrollment programsIt lets devices ship to staff already configured, and support varies by tier.
  • Enforced passcode, encryption and OS update policiesThese are the baseline controls auditors and cyber-insurance forms expect.
  • Remote lock and full wipe for lost or stolen devicesIt limits data loss, and some tools make wipe harder than others.
  • Distribution of required apps and removal of blocked appsApp management depth differs between mobile and desktop and by tier.

Should have

  • Integration with Entra ID, Okta or Google Workspace for access rulesLinking device state to login prevents unmanaged devices from reaching company data.
  • Separate work and personal data on employee-owned phonesBring-your-own-device rules affect privacy and enrollment type.
  • Remote screen view or control for helpdesk staffOften a paid add-on, and it changes the monthly total.
  • Reports that show non-compliant devicesAuditors ask for these, and reporting depth is uneven.

Nice to have

  • Kiosk mode for shared or single-purpose devicesNeeded for retail, logistics and classrooms.
  • Patch management for Windows and macOSReduces the need for a separate tool, though it is limited to higher tiers in several products.
  • On-premise deployment optionA few vendors offer it, and it matters for strict data rules.

Turn this checklist into a request

Questions vendors will ask you

Have answers ready for these, and your first conversation with a vendor starts at pricing instead of discovery.

  1. How many devices do you manage, and how many are phones versus laptops?Pricing is per device or per user, and mobile and desktop management may sit in different tiers.
  2. Which operating systems must be covered?An Apple-only fleet, an Android-heavy one and a mixed one point to very different products.
  3. Are devices company-owned, employee-owned, or both?Ownership decides the enrollment mode and how much control IT may use.
  4. Which identity provider do you use, such as Entra ID, Okta or Google?Conditional access and directory sync depend on it and may cost extra.
  5. Do devices need to run in kiosk mode or in shared use?Kiosk features are tier-dependent and shape the choice for rugged fleets.
  6. Do you want cloud only, or is on-premise hosting required?Deployment options differ and affect price and administration effort.

Example request

What a strong mobile device management software request looks like
We are a 120-person logistics company with about 70 company-owned Android handhelds in warehouses, 40 iPhones for managers and 60 Windows laptops in the office. We use Microsoft 365 with Entra ID and have one IT admin. We need MDM software that enrolls devices without hands-on setup, locks handhelds into a few apps, enforces passcodes and encryption, and lets us wipe lost devices. Laptops need basic policy and app deployment. We want reports on non-compliant devices for our insurer. Remote screen help for handhelds would be useful. Go-live is planned within six weeks, and we expect a budget in the low to mid four figures per year.

Write your own request

Mobile Device Management Software FAQ

What is MDM software?

It is a tool for registering company phones, tablets and often laptops, applying security settings and apps, and erasing a device that goes missing. Many vendors now cover every endpoint type and call the product UEM.

What is the best MDM software for small business?

It depends on your devices. ManageEngine MDM Plus and Miradore have free tiers, Mosyle suits Apple-only shops, and Hexnode and Scalefusion publish per-device prices. Microsoft 365 customers should compare Intune, which may already be included.

What is the difference between MDM and UEM?

MDM traditionally focused on phones and tablets, while UEM brings laptops and desktops into the same console. Today most vendors sell UEM and still say MDM, so ask which operating systems each plan covers.

Do I need MDM if I have Microsoft 365?

Microsoft 365 E3 and E5 include Intune Plan 1, so MDM may already be licensed. Lower Microsoft plans do not, and Intune can feel complex for Apple-heavy or very small fleets. Compare it against simpler tools before deciding.

Which MDM is best for Apple devices?

Jamf Pro is the long-standing Apple specialist for mid-size and larger fleets, and Mosyle is Apple-only with a free allowance of 30 devices. Both need Apple Business Manager for zero-touch enrollment.

What should I include in a request for MDM software offers?

State device counts by type, operating systems, ownership model, identity provider, enrollment needs, kiosk use and go-live date. Vendors can then propose the right tier and add-ons.

The bottom line

Begin with your device mix and ownership model, since that removes tools that cannot cover your operating systems. Then check enrollment, identity and add-on costs against your actual setup. A precise request on SaaSBid, stating device counts, platforms and identity provider, lets vendors quote the right tier and disclose extras such as remote support, so the offers you compare are complete.

Related categories