| TurboTax | ✓Documented: US federal and state returns | ✓Documented: Yes: Do It Yourself Premium and Expert Assist Premium (both formerly Self-Employed) cover self-employment income reported on Schedule C; Free Edition does not | ✓Documented: Yes via experts: Expert Assist Business and Expert Full Service Business file 1120-S and 1065 with Schedule K-1s; Form 1120 (C corp) is not supported in those two products | ✓Documented: Federal and state e-file; pay only when you e-file or print | ✓Documented: Account sync feature, limited to a single Schedule C; other import options not confirmed by the vendor | ✓Documented: Expert Assist (live expert review) and Expert Full Service tiers for individuals and businesses; Expert 365 Business monthly service | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| H&R Block | ✓Documented: US federal and state returns | ✓Documented: Self-Employed Online and Premium & Business desktop are the Schedule C products; the Deluxe + State page says Deluxe does not cover Schedule C | ✓Documented: Premium & Business desktop edition is described as supporting business returns | ✓Documented: E-file for federal and state returns (state e-file fee listed at $19.95) | –Not documented | ✓Documented: Tax Pro Review add-on online and tax offices; Premium & Business lists unlimited help | –Not documented | 71% |
|---|
| TaxAct | ✓Documented: US federal and state returns | ✓Documented: Yes: Self-Employed edition with full Schedule C support for income and expenses; Schedule SE is not mentioned on the page | ✓Documented: Yes: separate online products for 1065 (partnerships and LLCs), 1120-S, 1120 and 1041, plus a download 990 edition | ✓Documented: Authorized IRS e-file provider; state returns $64.99 each in Self-Employed | ✓Documented: W-2 import mentioned | ✓Documented: Xpert Assist ($45 on 1040 plans, higher on business returns) and Xpert Full Service where experts file for you | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| FreeTaxUSA | ✓Documented: US federal and state (IRS) | ✓Documented: Schedule C, Schedule SE, 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC, home office Form 8829, free in the federal return | ✓Documented: No. Staff state the product cannot file Form 1065, 1120-S or 1120; K-1 income from a partnership can be entered on the personal return | ✓Documented: Federal e-file free; state e-file $15.99 per state | ✓Documented: Imports prior-year FreeTaxUSA data | ✓Documented: Deluxe ($7.99) adds live chat and priority support; no CPA preparation | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| TaxSlayer | ✓Documented: US federal and state (IRS) | ✓Documented: Self-Employed tier ($74.99 federal) for 1099 and Schedule C; Simply Free excludes Schedule C income | ✓Documented: No business entity returns listed for the consumer product; TaxSlayer Pro is separate preparer software | ✓Documented: Federal and state e-file; state $47.99 per state on paid tiers | –Not documented | ✓Documented: Premium: live chat and Ask a Tax Pro; Self-Employed: matched tax pro with self-employed expertise | –Not documented | 71% |
|---|
| Cash App Taxes | ✓Documented: US federal and state (IRS) | ✓Documented: Yes. 1099-NEC and 1099-K amounts create a Schedule C; self-employed, contractors and small business owners can file free per the product page | ✓Documented: No business entity returns listed; product is for individual returns | ✓Documented: Free federal and state e-file | –Not documented | ✓Documented: No human tax expert offered; the page says Cash App Taxes is not a tax advisor | –Not documented | 71% |
|---|
| WISO Steuer | ✓Documented: Germany (Einkommensteuer, Umsatzsteuer, Gewerbesteuer) | ✓Documented: Selbstständige page lists Einkommensteuer with Anlage G, EÜR, Umsatzsteuererklärung, Umsatzsteuer-Voranmeldungen and Gewerbesteuererklärung; Anlage S is not named on the page | ✓Documented: Gewerbesteuererklärung and Umsatzsteuererklärung listed, up to 5 returns per year including for several businesses; Körperschaftsteuer and Feststellungserklärung not listed | ✓Documented: Transmits the return to the tax office; page cites 'Amtlich anerkannte Datenübertragung (§ 87c AO)'; WISO EÜR+Kasse states an official ELSTER interface | ✓Documented: Automatic data retrieval and form filling (Vorteils-Abo), photo capture of Lohnsteuerbescheinigung and receipts, e-invoice upload; WISO EÜR+Kasse imports prior-year, WISO Mein Geld and other banking software data | ✓Documented: SteuerGPT AI adviser; Vorteils-Abo adds technical hotline and tax coaching; external ProfiCheck review service (no price on the page) | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| SteuerSparErklärung | ✓Documented: Germany (Einkommensteuer, Umsatzsteuer, Gewerbesteuer) | ✓Documented: Selbstständige edition: Einkommensteuer plus Gewinnermittlung/EÜR, depreciation, vehicle costs and Anlage KAP; Umsatzsteuer- and Gewerbesteuererklärung generated automatically from recorded income and expenses | ✓Documented: Gewerbesteuererklärung, Umsatzsteuererklärung and preliminary VAT return; einheitliche und gesonderte Feststellung listed on the tax-year 2023 edition page; Körperschaftsteuer not listed | ✓Documented: Files via ELSTER or prints official forms; includes ELSTER setup assistant; macOS 14 or later needed for ELSTER submission on Mac | ✓Documented: Pre-filled return data (VaSt) via ELSTER, prior-year version or STEUEReasy transfer, crypto data via CoinTracking | ✓Documented: No personal tax advisor; built-in help, tax-tip database, sample letters and AI assistant Alma (German, Turkish, English, Russian) | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| Lexware QuickSteuer | ✓Documented: Germany (Einkommensteuer; Deluxe adds Gewerbe- und Umsatzsteuer) | ✓Documented: Deluxe: Gewerbe- und Umsatzsteuererklärung 2025, EÜR, and EÜR-Rechner 2025 and 2024 with Umsatzsteuer-Voranmeldung; Standard targets simple to medium private cases | ✓Documented: Gewerbe- und Umsatzsteuererklärung in Deluxe; Körperschaftsteuer and Feststellungserklärung not listed | ✓Documented: Transmits to the Finanzamt via ELSTER (internet needed); Deluxe lists central ELSTER transmission settings | ✓Documented: Takes over previous-year data and imports data per the shop page; no bank import listed | ✓Documented: Free hotline 0800-30-50-600 (Mon to Fri 8:00 to 18:00), free setup service, in-program help; paid Support-Service-Paket with live PC assistance (price not stated); no Steuerberater review | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| Taxfix | ✓Documented: Germany (ELSTER filing) | ✓Documented: Kleinunternehmer (§ 19 UStG) and Freiberufler with Einnahmen-Überschuss-Rechnung: Anlage EÜR and Anlage S guided in the app. Umsatzsteuer-liable self-employed: separate bookkeeping product, income tax return 'not yet supported' per its FAQ. Requires a simple EÜR; bookkeeping-obliged businesses are referred to a Steuerberater. | ✓Documented: No Kapitalgesellschaften or employers. Gewerbesteuererklärung 'if needed' on the Kleinunternehmer page; the Freiberufler page says Gewerbesteuer is not covered. Umsatzsteuer-Voranmeldung via ELSTER only in the separate VAT-liable subscription. | ✓Documented: Submission directly to the Finanzamt, via the official ELSTER interface per the vendor FAQ | ✓Documented: Reuse of last year's values in Basic; automatic reading of amount, date and tax rate from uploaded receipts in the VAT-liable bookkeeping product; no bank or accounting-software import stated | ✓Documented: Expert tier: certified independent tax advisers prepare the return; chat support including help with Finanzamt follow-up questions. Expert for VAT-liable self-employed was waitlist-only at the time of checking. | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| smartsteuer | ✓Documented: Germany (transmission to the Finanzamt, not direct ELSTER account) | ✓Documented: Yes: guided Einnahmen-Überschuss-Rechnung for self-employed, side-business freelancers and landlords; Anlage S and Anlage G not named on the pages read | ✓Documented: Einkommensteuererklärung, Umsatzsteuererklärung, Gewerbesteuererklärung and gesonderte (einheitliche) Feststellung listed; Umsatzsteuer-Voranmeldung not named | ✓Documented: Online transmission to the Finanzamt via an interface; vendor says filing directly in ELSTER is not required | ✓Documented: Prior-year data transfer; automatic import of Einnahmen, Ausgaben and Belege from Lexware Office; no general bank import stated | ✓Documented: No Steuerberater option stated; email support (hilfe@smartsteuer.de) and a SmartCheck review before submission | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| WunderTax | ✓Documented: Germany (transmission to the Finanzamt) | ✓Documented: Yes: Anlage S, Anlage G and Anlage EÜR sent automatically to the Finanzamt; Anlage G does not apply to Freiberufler; includes Umsatzsteuerjahreserklärung (vendor page, from search result) | ✓Documented: Umsatzsteuerjahreserklärung stated; Gewerbesteuererklärung and Umsatzsteuer-Voranmeldung not stated | ✓Documented: Automatic transmission to the Finanzamt (vendor says Anlagen are sent automatically) | –Not documented | ✓Documented: No individual tax advice included per a third-party directory; vendor compares its fixed price with Steuerberater fees | –Not documented | 71% |
|---|
| Accountable | ✓Documented: Germany (and Belgium for the Accountable group) | ✓Documented: Built for Freiberufler and Einzelunternehmer: Einkommensteuererklärung for § 18, § 19 and § 20 EStG income, EÜR in Jahresabschluss, Umsatzsteuer-Voranmeldung. Anlage S and G not named. Ist-Versteuerung only; one Steuernummer. | ✓Documented: Umsatzsteuer-Voranmeldung, Zusammenfassende Meldung, Umsatzsteuerjahreserklärung (in plan comparison), Gewerbesteuererklärung via ELSTER 'in many cases'; UG and GmbH not supported | ✓Documented: Sends returns directly to the Finanzamt; vendor page names ELSTER explicitly only for Gewerbesteuer. | ✓Documented: Bank connection (own accounts or Accountable Banking), receipt scanning on mobile, DATEV export | ✓Documented: Chat with tax coaches from the Steuern plan, personal tax coach and 4 coach calls on Max; partner Steuerberater on demand (extra cost not stated); can invite your own Steuerberater | –Not documented | 86% |
|---|
| DATEV | ✓Documented: Germany | –Not documented | ✓Documented: Tax-firm platform: DATEV Steuern for tax returns and Kanzlei-Rechnungswesen for bookkeeping and annual accounts (product scope per product names; feature pages not read) | ✓Documented: DATEV states it transmits data to over 200 authorities (datev.de 'warum DATEV') | ✓Documented: Clients deliver receipts and bookkeeping data via DATEV Unternehmen online; data exchange with a Kanzlei offered for businesses with and without DATEV software (datev.de Datenaustausch page) | ✓Documented: Personal advisors and round-the-clock online support (vendor, 'warum DATEV'); regional founder advisor during Startpaket funding period | ✓Documented: DATEV Unternehmen online as client portal for document and data exchange with the Kanzlei; DATEV Kanzlei-Rechnungswesen and DATEV Steuern as core Kanzlei software; the platform other tools connect to via DATEV interfaces (DATEV-Marktplatz linked on the about page); Startpaket compact for new firms. Deadlines, time tracking and StBVV billing modules not read on vendor pages (not confirmed by the vendor) | 86% |
|---|
| Agenda | ✓Documented: Germany | –Not documented | ✓Documented: Tax module: business and private tax calculation, electronic assessment review (Bescheidprüfung), automatic tax provisions; Rechnungswesen includes Finanz- and Anlagenbuchhaltung and Jahresabschluss | ✓Documented: ELSTER integration listed on the vendor Steuerberater page | ✓Documented: DATEV interface listed; Agenda Connect; clients submit receipts via InvoiceHub; digital receipt booking and bank data in the company portal | ✓Documented: Phone consultation and appointment; online training; switching support; no Steuerberater advice (software) | ✓Documented: Firmenportal / client portal (digital receipt booking, online Kassenbuch and bank data, online reports, secure Dateiaustausch with clients); Agenda Connect; DATEV interface; Fristen tracking; Zeiterfassung; Honorarabrechnung (fee billing); document management and central appointment planning (Kanzleiverwaltung); ELSTER integration. StBVV-specific billing wording not on the pages read | 86% |
|---|
| ADDISON (Wolters Kluwer) | ✓Documented: Germany; software for Steuerberater and Steuerkanzleien (tax firms), not for individual taxpayers | ✓Documented: Not applicable as a DIY product. Firm software that prepares returns for clients including Selbstständige (module scope not confirmed by the vendor) | ✓Documented: Suite covers Steuern, Rechnungswesen/Finanzbuchhaltung, Jahresabschluss and Controlling for firm clients; detailed return coverage not confirmed by the vendor on the vendor page | –Not documented | ✓Documented: Interfaces listed by tax & bytes: sevDesk, GetMyInvoices, Clockodo; digital Belegworkflow and automated booking. Vendor has a heading on cooperation with DATEV-using firms; interface details not confirmed by the vendor | ✓Documented: Not applicable (firm software). Vendor offers its own training academy (akademie.addison.de) and support | ✓Documented: Client portal: ADDISON OneClick (Belege submission, Auswertungen, apps). Document management: ADDISON Akte (digital Steuerakte). Time tracking: Zeiterfassung via OneClick app (Android, iOS, desktop) for clients' staff, per Wolters Kluwer; Clockodo interface for firm time tracking. Payroll: Lohn Online incl. eAU. Deadlines/tasks and a native DATEV interface not stated on pages seen. Billing/Honorar module not confirmed by the vendor | 86% |
|---|
| TaxDome | ✓Documented: International; German localization (de-de site, DATEV integration). Practice management for firms, not a filing product | ✓Documented: Not applicable (firm software, does not file returns itself) | ✓Documented: Not applicable (does not prepare Umsatzsteuer or Gewerbesteuer returns) | ✓Documented: Not applicable (no ELSTER filing) | ✓Documented: DATEV Unternehmen online integration to move documents from the client portal (vendor blog), Zapier, tax-software interfaces listed by tax & bytes; client document upload via portal and mobile app | ✓Documented: Not applicable (firm software); vendor community and help center | ✓Documented: Client portal with mobile app and automatic reminders; document management; task and workflow management; e-signature; client onboarding; CRM; time tracking and invoicing per tax & bytes listing; DATEV integration (documents via DATEV Unternehmen online, GoBD-conform per vendor). Deadlines as task due dates; native Fristen module not confirmed by the vendor | 100% |
|---|
| KanzleiDrive | ✓Documented: Germany; for Steuerkanzleien and Wirtschaftsprüfer and their clients | ✓Documented: Not applicable (client portal, not a filing tool) | ✓Documented: Not applicable (does not prepare returns) | ✓Documented: Not applicable; signatures eIDAS EES, FES and QES | ✓Documented: Client uploads by drag and drop, scanner function or mobile app; files sorted automatically by engagement, year and category; DATEV DMS, DokAb, DUO, Meine Steuern, ReWe and Stammdaten connections | ✓Documented: Not applicable (firm software) | ✓Documented: Client portal with own branding and domain (Professional); document exchange with automatic filing; internal and external tasks with due dates and automatic reminders (no separate Fristen module); DATEV interfaces (DMS, DokAb, DUO, Meine Steuern, ReWe, Stammdaten; plan Office and up); digital signatures; automated KYC onboarding and form templates; mobile app. Time tracking and billing not mentioned on the page | 100% |