SaaSBid.io

Live Chat Software

Olark: features, pricing and who it fits

Checked October 26, 2026 · olark.com

Olark is a plain live chat product at $29 per agent per month, with a separate AI website agent tier at a flat $400 per month that includes one human seat. There is no free plan. SSO is listed only on the Custom plan, and advanced integrations also need Custom.

Who Olark is for

Best for

  • Small teams that want plain human live chat at a per-agent price
  • Teams that want to add an AI agent later without reinstalling

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers who need SSO below the custom tier
  • Teams that want a free plan

Olark features

AI agent and chatbot
Standard AI Website Agent at $400 per month; can be added to Live Chat later
Free plan
No free plan listed
Visitor tracking and targeting
Triggers by page, time on site, scroll depth, repeat visits and ad source
Multichannel inbox
Website chat with email follow-up; WhatsApp and SMS on Olark Classic
CRM and helpdesk integrations
Advanced integrations on Custom
Reporting and analytics
Searchable chat logs, Google Analytics events, AI Analyst (beta)
Pricing model
Per agent per month for human chat; flat monthly price for the AI agent tier
Target company size
Small and mid-size teams

Olark pricing

PlanPriceUnitNotes
Live Chat$29per agent per monthHuman only, 14-day free trial, no card
Standard AI Website Agent$400per month ($4,800 per year billed annually)1 human seat included, extra seats $29 per agent per month
CustomContact salesquoteSSO, regional routing, multiple teams, custom SLAs

Live Chat is $29 per agent per month on the vendor pricing page.

Prices as published by Olark on the date above. Quotes for larger teams often differ, which is what a request on SaaSBid surfaces.

Integrations, security and hosting

Data residency
Hosted on Google Cloud and AWS in the US; customer regions not stated

Worth knowing before you buy

  • The AI agent tier is a flat $400 per month and includes one human seat; more seats cost $29 each.
  • SSO is listed only on the Custom plan.
  • A standard DPA is available on request by email; modified DPAs require the Pro plan.
  • Olark names Google Cloud and AWS as hosting providers in the US and does not state customer data regions.
  • Olark describes itself as a small company and offers $100 to $300 bounties for critical security reports.

Olark alternatives

Vendor dossier

Fit by company size

Category1-10 people11-50 people51-500 people500+ people
Live Chat SoftwareWorkableStrong fitWorkableNo data

Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor

How buying Olark works

How you buy
Online up to Live Chat, sales above
Demo or quote needed for
Custom
Free trial
14 days
Contract
Live Chat billed monthly; AI agent tier billed annually

Security and data protection

Single sign-on (SAML)
Custom plan

From Olark's trust center, security and legal pages. Anything not listed is not published.

About the company

Founded
2009
Ownership
Backed by Y Combinator

Support and integrations

Support
White glove support and account management on the AI tier; custom SLAs on Custom

What vendors in this category ask before quoting

Answer these once in a SaaSBid request and Olark and its alternatives quote against the same facts.

  1. How many agents answer chats, and during which hours?Seat count and coverage hours decide between per-agent and flat plans.
  2. How many chat conversations per month do you expect?Some vendors bill by conversation or cap sessions on free plans.
  3. Which website platform and CRM or help desk do you use?Native integrations decide whether a plugin works out of the box.
  4. Should an AI agent resolve chats, and what share do you hope to automate?AI is billed per resolution, per session or through credits.
  5. Which channels besides web chat must be supported?WhatsApp, social and voice are often add-ons or higher plans.
  6. Do you need SSO, audit logs or a specific data region?These controls often start only on enterprise-level plans.

Sources