
Invoicing Software
Bill.com: features, pricing and who it fits
Bill.com covers both bill payment and invoicing with approval workflows, priced from $49 per user monthly plus per-transaction fees on payments. It syncs with QuickBooks Online and Xero, and NetSuite on Enterprise. Reviewers cite weak international payment options and uneven customer service.
Who Bill.com is for
Best for
- Finance teams that run both bill pay and invoicing in one tool with approval chains
- Small and mid-size companies on QuickBooks Online or Xero that want 2-way sync
Look elsewhere if
- Freelancers who only need to send a few invoices (starts at $49 per user per month)
- Companies needing many international payment options (reviewers complain about this)
Fit by company size
| Category | 1-10 people | 11-50 people | 51-500 people | 500+ people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Invoicing Software | Poor fit | Strong fit | Strong fit | Strong fit |
Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor
Bill.com features
- Recurring invoices and subscriptions
- Recurring invoices listed explicitly on Corporate and Enterprise; Essentials and Team list 'send invoices flexibly' only
- Online payment acceptance
- Card 2.9% and ACH $0.59 on received payments; instant transfer 1.25% ($1 min)
- Automated payment reminders
- Automated payment reminders on all plans
- Accounting integration
- 2-way sync QuickBooks Online/Pro/Premier and Xero from Team; NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and QuickBooks Enterprise on Enterprise; Essentials is CSV only
- Time and expense billing
- No billable-time invoicing found; separate BILL Spend & Expense product covers expenses
- Reporting and aging
- Cash flow forecasting from Team (QBO users); full reporting detail not confirmed by the vendor
- Pricing model and transparency
- Per user per month plus per-transaction fees for payments
- Target company size
- Small to mid-size businesses and accounting firms (accountant partner programs); Enterprise tier for larger finance teams
Bill.com pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $49 | user/month | Manual CSV import/export, standard approval policies, 6 standard roles, automated payment reminders |
| Team | $65 | user/month | Automatic 2-way sync with QuickBooks Online/Pro/Premier and Xero, custom roles, approval workflows |
| Corporate | $89 | user/month | Recurring invoices listed explicitly, custom approval policies, SSO, procurement included |
| Enterprise | Custom | quote | Adds NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics, dual control, premium phone support |
Trial described as 'available in most cases', length not stated. Transaction fees are separate: receiving by ACH $0.59, card 2.9%, instant transfer 1.25% ($1 min); paying by ACH $0.59, check $1.99. BILL Spend & Expense (corporate cards) is $0 per user per month. Billing period and annual discount not stated on the pricing page.
Prices as published by Bill.com on the date above. Quotes for larger teams often differ, which is what a request on SaaSBid surfaces.
Pros and cons
What users like
- Scalable and centralized payment management
- Approval workflows and audit trail for bills
Common complaints
- Customer service quality
- Difficulty integrating with some accounting systems
- Limited international payment capabilities
Integrations, security and hosting
- Security and compliance
- SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, PCI (Spend & Expense; PCI Level 1 for AP/AR virtual card and Pay by Card)
- Data residency
- US only found: AP/AR in certified third-party data centers; Spend & Expense on AWS US-West-2
Worth knowing before you buy
- Per-user pricing: a 20-user team on Team costs $15,600 per year at the listed monthly rate ($65 x 20 x 12), before payment fees
- Only Corporate and above show SSO in the plan comparison table; the security page does not mention SSO
- Automatic QuickBooks/Xero sync starts at Team ($65); Essentials is manual CSV
- AR receiving fees apply on top of seats: $0.59 per ACH, 2.9% per card
- Procurement is an add-on on Essentials and Team, included on Corporate