
Team Chat and Messaging Software
Flock: features, pricing and who it fits
Flock is a team messenger for small and mid-size teams, with channels, video and apps. The free Starter plan keeps 10,000 searchable messages and allows only 1:1 video, while PRO group calls stop at 20 participants. SSO is reserved for Enterprise.
Who Flock is for
Best for
- Small teams (up to about 100 members) wanting low-cost chat with a free tier
- Teams that want unlimited search history without a large per-seat price
Look elsewhere if
- Buyers needing SSO below the Enterprise plan
- Teams needing large group video calls (PRO group calls cap at 20)
Fit by company size
| Category | 1-10 people | 11-50 people | 51-500 people | 500+ people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Team Chat and Messaging Software | Strong fit | Strong fit | Workable | No data |
Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor
Flock features
- Channels and threading
- 10 public channels on Starter, unlimited on PRO and Enterprise
- Built-in video and huddles
- Starter 1:1 only; PRO group calls up to 20 participants; Enterprise limit not stated
- Search and message history limits
- 10,000 searchable messages on Starter; unlimited on PRO and Enterprise
- Guest and external access
- PRO and Enterprise guests free for 90 days from invitation, then billed at member rate
- Security and admin controls
- SSO Enterprise only; hosted on AWS; TLS 1.2
- Pricing model and transparency
- Free tier, per-user PRO, quote-based Enterprise with member-count bands
- Target company size
- Starter 1 to 20, PRO 20 to 100, Enterprise 100+ members
Flock pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $0 | 1 to 20 members, 10,000 searchable messages, 10 public channels, 1:1 calls only, 5 GB per team | |
| PRO | Contact sales | per user per month | 20 to 100 members, unlimited history and channels, group calls up to 20, 10 GB per member. Older Flock pages, roughly 6 years old, listed $4.50 per user per month billed annually (not confirmed by the vendor) |
| Enterprise | Get a quote | 100+ members, SSO, 20 GB per member |
The vendor's current pricing page does not display PRO amounts. Yearly billing lowers per-user cost per FAQ.
Prices as published by Flock on the date above. Quotes for larger teams often differ, which is what a request on SaaSBid surfaces.
Pros and cons
What users like
- Easy to use
- Channels and direct messages keep conversations organized
Common complaints
- Fewer advanced features than larger rivals
- Mobile apps seen as needing improvement
Integrations, security and hosting
- Data residency
- Hosted on AWS; region options not stated
Worth knowing before you buy
- Plans are gated by team size band (1-20, 20-100, 100+), which can force a plan change as you grow
- Guests are free only for 90 days, then count as paid members
- SSO is Enterprise only, which means a 100+ member quote
- Group video on PRO caps at 20 people