SaaSBid.io

Collaboration and productivity

Best Knowledge Base Software in 2026: 12 Tools Compared by Company Size and Requirements

Updated October 24, 2026 · 12 tools · Facts checked against vendor pages · How we review

For internal wikis, Confluence is the safe pick for Jira teams and Slite suits small teams that want AI search and EU hosting. For customer-facing help centers, Helpjuice offers a flat monthly fee and Document360 handles public and private documentation. Teams that already run a help desk can start with Help Scout Docs or Freshdesk.

This page is for support leads, operations managers and IT teams who need knowledge base software and want to know which product matches their company before they ask for demos. The tools are grouped by company size and by requirements such as public versus private access, approval workflows and AI search. Turn the requirement lists below into a written request on SaaSBid and compare the offers vendors send back instead of reading a dozen pricing pages.

Top picks by situation

  • An internal wiki for a team on Jira

    Confluence

    No charge for up to 10 users, page history on the free tier and close Jira links; Standard adds page and space permissions plus page insights.

    From: Free up to 10 users

  • A branded customer help center at a flat fee

    Helpjuice

    Pricing is a monthly fee by user cap, starting at $249 for 30 users, with version history, approval for drafts and reports on search terms.

    From: $249 per month (Knowledge Base, up to 30 users)

  • Product docs with public and private sections

    Document360

    A knowledge base can be public, private or mixed, with workflow reviewers, SSO, SCIM and a dedicated success manager for every customer.

    From: Contact sales

  • A 30-person European startup wanting an AI wiki

    Slite

    Every paid plan includes Ask AI search, production data sits in Belgium under an EU setup, and SOC 2 Type II plus a public DPA are listed.

    From: $10 per user/month billed yearly (Basic)

  • Support and sales teams needing verified answers in Slack

    Guru

    Cited, permission-aware AI answers appear in work tools, with SSO, SCIM and audit logs under enterprise governance and a solution engineering team in the quote.

    From: Contact sales

  • A five-person team wanting a quick, free wiki

    Nuclino

    The free plan holds up to 50 items, Markdown is handled cleanly, and the Business plan adds SAML SSO plus an audit log.

    From: Free (up to 50 items)

Knowledge Base Software comparison table

Knowledge Base Software compared
ToolBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialG2 rating
Freshdesk SMB support teams wanting low entry price and SAML SSO on every plan $19 per agent/month billed annually (Growth) No Yes 4.4 (3,750 reviews)
Help Scout Small support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs Free up to 5 users Yes Yes 4.4 (428 reviews)
Document360 Product and SaaS documentation teams needing public and private KBs Contact sales No Not stated 4.7 (501 reviews)
Tettra Small and mid-size teams living in Slack that want a cheap internal wiki $8 per user/month (Scaling, 10-user minimum) No Yes 4.7 (159 reviews)
Helpjuice Teams that want predictable flat monthly cost $249 per month (Knowledge Base, up to 30 users) No Yes 4.7 (380 reviews)
Bloomfire Mid-size and enterprise teams that want a company-wide Q&A and knowledge library with search as the main feature Contact sales No No 4.6 (509 reviews)
Slite Small and mid-size teams wanting an AI search wiki at a published price $10 per user/month billed yearly (Basic) No Yes 4.6 (271 reviews)
Zendesk Support teams that want a broad omnichannel suite with a regional data hosting option $19 per agent/month billed annually (Support Team) No Yes 4.3 (7,001 reviews)
Guru Sales and support teams needing verified answers in Slack, browser and chat Contact sales No Not stated 4.7 (2,344 reviews)
Confluence Teams already on Jira or Jira Service Management Free up to 10 users Yes Not stated 4.1 (4,233 reviews)
Notion Startups and small teams combining wiki and project tracking Free Yes Not stated 4.6 (10,967 reviews)
Nuclino Small teams wanting a simple, fast wiki with a free plan Free (up to 50 items) Yes Yes 4.7 (24 reviews)

What is knowledge base software?

Knowledge base software holds help articles, FAQs and step-by-step procedures in one searchable library. Companies publish it for customers, who then find answers without opening a ticket, or keep it private so employees can look up policies and processes. Authors write and update pages in an editor, reviewers approve them, and search or an AI assistant brings up the right page. Analytics reveal which searches found nothing, which tells the team what to write next. Support departments, IT groups, HR and product organizations all depend on knowledge base software to keep answers consistent as headcount grows.

Core capabilities

  • Article editor

    Lets non-technical staff write, format and update pages with images, tables and links, usually together in real time.

  • Search and AI answers

    Finds the right article from a loose question, and newer tools write a cited answer from the library.

  • Public and private access

    Separates a customer help center from an employee wiki with roles, groups and single sign-on.

  • Versioning and approvals

    Keeps page history and routes drafts to a reviewer so content stays accurate.

  • Analytics and content gaps

    Reports article views, ratings and failed searches to show where content is missing.

  • Help desk and chat integrations

    Suggests articles inside tickets, Slack or chat so agents and customers see answers where they work.

The 12 best knowledge base software, reviewed

1

Freshdesk

$19 per agent/month billed annually (Growth)

Freshdesk comes from Freshworks and bundles a knowledge base into its help desk, sold in three per-agent plans with AI charged per session. Every plan has SAML SSO, but audit logs stay on Enterprise. No free plan is listed, and Growth costs $19 per agent.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • SMB support teams wanting low entry price and SAML SSO on every plan
  • Teams with moderate AI chatbot volume (500 sessions included)

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing audit logs without paying for Enterprise
  • Teams wanting a free plan (none listed)

Key features

Help desk and chat integrations
Connector app tasks $80 per 5,000
Pricing model
Per agent plus AI session packs
Target company size
SMB to mid-market tiers

Full Freshdesk profileRequest an offer

2

Help Scout

Free up to 5 users

Help Scout is a help desk in shared-inbox style that ships with Docs, its knowledge base. Teams of up to 25 on Standard are the typical buyers, and the free tier serves 5 users. Pro brings SSO and HIPAA support but needs 10 or more users.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs
  • Teams needing HIPAA support (Pro plan, BAA)

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing SSO below the Pro plan (SSO is an add-on or Pro, 10 users minimum)

Key features

Help desk and chat integrations
Salesforce, Jira, HubSpot on Plus
Pricing model
Per user plus per-resolution AI
Target company size
Under 25 users on Standard; Pro for larger

Full Help Scout profileRequest an offer

3

Document360

Contact sales

Document360 builds public or private documentation sites for product and SaaS teams, with a workflow builder, roles and IP restriction. Pricing is a custom quote based on editors, workspaces, languages, SSO and AI. Every customer gets a dedicated success manager, and standard migration is included in most quotes.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • Product and SaaS documentation teams needing public and private KBs
  • Teams wanting a dedicated success manager and migration included

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers who want public self-serve pricing
  • Very small teams needing a cheap wiki

Key features

Authoring and editing experience
Collaborative editing and Custom Workflow Builder; editor types not detailed on features page
Search and AI answers
Eddy AI features included in plans; AI Chatbot sold as add-on
Internal vs public access control
Public, private or mixed KB; reader accounts for private KBs; SSO, SCIM, IP restriction, roles
Versioning and review workflows
Custom Workflow Builder with reviewers
Analytics and content gaps
Pro Analytics listed; failed-search reporting not confirmed
Help desk and chat integrations
Connects to third-party help desks, chatbots and collaboration tools (specific names not listed by the vendor)
Pricing model
Custom quote by team accounts, workspaces, languages, SSO and AI usage
Target company size
SMB to enterprise software documentation teams (inferred from dedicated success manager and SSO/SCIM)

What users like

  • Ease of use (G2 9.3) and support (9.5)
  • Clean, user-friendly editor

Common complaints

  • Learning curve for editor and advanced features
  • Occasional slow loading and limited functionality

Full Document360 profileRequest an offer

4

Tettra

$8 per user/month (Scaling, 10-user minimum)

Tettra is a wiki for internal use built around Slack, plus AI answers to team questions. Scaling costs $8 per user with a 10-user minimum, and SSO plus SCIM are paid extras there. Customer-facing help centers are outside its scope.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small and mid-size teams living in Slack that want a cheap internal wiki
  • Teams of 10 or more who want a published monthly price

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams under 10 users (10-user minimum on Scaling)
  • Buyers who need SSO and SCIM included in the base plan
  • Customer-facing help centers

Key features

Search and AI answers
AI answers and AI bot in Slack included on Scaling
Internal vs public access control
Group permissions require the SCIM add-on
Analytics and content gaps
Usage analytics on Scaling
Help desk and chat integrations
Slack bot; Google Workspace integration; API access
Pricing model
Per accepted user, 10-user minimum
Target company size
Small to mid-size; volume discounts past 250 licenses

What users like

  • Easy setup
  • Responsive support

Common complaints

  • SSO and SCIM cost extra on the entry plan

Full Tettra profileRequest an offer

5

Helpjuice

$249 per month (Knowledge Base, up to 30 users)

Helpjuice does not bill per seat. One monthly sum covers 30, 100 or any number of users depending on the tier, and the upper two tiers add AI. Branded help centers, live co-editing and SSO through Okta, Azure AD or Auth0 are covered. SCIM is reportedly missing.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • Teams that want predictable flat monthly cost
  • Support teams needing a customizable branded help center

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams under 30 users with tiny budgets (cheapest plan $249 per month)
  • Buyers needing SCIM provisioning (third-party says unsupported)

Key features

Authoring and editing experience
WYSIWYG editor with tables, custom HTML, drag-and-drop media, real-time editing and comments
Search and AI answers
AI-powered search with 'Ask AI', searches PDFs and images (AI plans)
Internal vs public access control
Restrict by URL, IP, user or group; four user role levels; SSO via Okta, Azure AD, Auth0
Versioning and review workflows
Version history with compare and restore; approval process for drafts
Analytics and content gaps
Reports on article impact, search terms, top topics and user activity
Help desk and chat integrations
100+ integrations incl. Slack, Salesforce, Zendesk, Zapier, Teams, Freshdesk; API and Chrome extension
Pricing model
Flat monthly fee tiered by user cap (30, 100, unlimited)
Target company size
Small teams to large organizations (unlimited-user tier)

What users like

  • Ease of use and setup
  • Responsive support

Common complaints

  • Limited customization in places
  • Editing can feel clunky

Full Helpjuice profileRequest an offer

6

Bloomfire

Contact sales

Bloomfire offers internal knowledge sharing with AI search, priced as a fixed quote tied to scope, with no per-user counting. Sales scopes onboarding and content migration. Mid-size and enterprise teams are the audience; it does not target customer help centers.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: poor fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Mid-size and enterprise teams that want a company-wide Q&A and knowledge library with search as the main feature
  • Buyers who prefer a fixed price with no per-user counting

Look elsewhere if

  • Small teams wanting a published price or self-serve trial
  • Customer-facing help centers (positioned as internal knowledge sharing)

Key features

Search and AI answers
G2 reviewers highlight search and discovery (AI-written G2 summary)
Pricing model
Fixed quote based on scope, no user counts or consumption charges
Target company size
Sales-led; quote includes onboarding and content migration scoping

What users like

  • Search and discovery are called out as strong
  • Little training needed for end users

Common complaints

  • No public pricing, quote needed for any comparison

Full Bloomfire profileRequest an offer

7

Slite

$10 per user/month billed yearly (Basic)

Slite is a team wiki built around AI, priced per user. Paid plans include Ask AI, and Basic adds a verification workflow for pages. SCIM and audit logs are Enterprise-only. It serves internal knowledge, not public help centers.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • Small and mid-size teams wanting an AI search wiki at a published price
  • European buyers wanting EU-hosted data (Belgium)

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing SCIM below Enterprise
  • Customer-facing help centers (internal wiki positioning)

Key features

Search and AI answers
Ask AI search on all paid plans; Agent and cross-tool search on Pro
Internal vs public access control
Enforced SSO and external IdPs on higher plans; public docs on custom domain (Pro)
Versioning and review workflows
Doc verification workflow on Basic
Help desk and chat integrations
MCP and API access on Basic; search across connected tools on Pro
Pricing model
Per user per month
Target company size
G2: 64.4% of reviewers at companies of 50 or fewer

What users like

  • Intuitive interface
  • Real-time collaboration

Common complaints

  • Limited formatting for complex documentation
  • Occasional crashes when pasting into tables (one reviewer)

Full Slite profileRequest an offer

8

Zendesk

$19 per agent/month billed annually (Support Team)

Zendesk is an enterprise-grade help desk that includes the Guide knowledge base, sold per agent with per-resolution AI fees. Data hosting can be chosen in the US, Australia, Japan or the EEA through an add-on. Copilot, quality assurance and 24/7 support are paid extras.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: workable
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Support teams that want a broad omnichannel suite with a regional data hosting option
  • Teams comfortable paying per AI resolution

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams wanting flat all-in pricing: Copilot, WEM, QA and 24/7 support are paid add-ons
  • Very small teams that need a free plan (none listed)

Key features

Pricing model
Per agent plus per-resolution AI fees and add-ons
Target company size
Tiers from Support Team to Enterprise

Full Zendesk profileRequest an offer

9

Guru

Contact sales

Guru is a knowledge platform that surfaces verified answers, with sources cited, wherever employees already work. Contracts are custom quotes for mid-size and enterprise buyers and include a solution engineering team. Its governance bundle lists SAML SSO, SCIM, audit logs and roles.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: poor fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Sales and support teams needing verified answers in Slack, browser and chat
  • Mid-size and enterprise orgs wanting SSO, SCIM and governance

Look elsewhere if

  • Small teams wanting public per-seat pricing
  • Public customer-facing help centers

Key features

Authoring and editing experience
Card-based knowledge with verification; details not confirmed
Search and AI answers
Knowledge Agents and AI search, cited permission-aware answers, MCP delivery
Internal vs public access control
Role-based access, SSO, SCIM, audit logs (enterprise governance)
Versioning and review workflows
Verification workflow not confirmed
Help desk and chat integrations
100+ integrations (vendor page)
Pricing model
Custom platform quote, includes solution engineering team
Target company size
Mid-size to enterprise

What users like

  • Intuitive onboarding and browser extension
  • Helpful support team

Common complaints

  • Opaque pricing
  • Price rise versus older per-seat tiers (inferred from conflicting price listings)

Full Guru profileRequest an offer

10

Confluence

Free up to 10 users

Confluence is Atlassian's team wiki with deep ties to Jira, sold per user in Free, Standard, Premium and Enterprise. The Free tier stops at 10 users. Single sign-on and SCIM need a separate Atlassian Guard subscription, and reviewers describe confusing navigation and search.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Teams already on Jira or Jira Service Management
  • Internal wikis and project documentation at any size

Look elsewhere if

  • Public customer-facing help centers as the main goal
  • Buyers who need SSO without buying an extra Atlassian Guard subscription

Key features

Authoring and editing experience
Real-time collaborative editing with inline and page comments
Search and AI answers
Advanced search, labels and hierarchy; Rovo AI summarizes and explains jargon (Standard and up per third party)
Internal vs public access control
Page and space permissions for users, groups and anonymous from Standard
Versioning and review workflows
Page history, compare and revert on Free
Analytics and content gaps
Page insights on Standard; site, space and page analytics on Premium
Help desk and chat integrations
Jira, Jira Service Management, Trello and Marketplace apps; Slack not named on features page
Pricing model
Per user per month, annual, tiered by user count
Target company size
Teams of all sizes; Free to 10 users, Enterprise for large deployments (up to 150 sites)

What users like

  • Best-in-class integration with Jira and Atlassian tools
  • Easy to use shared knowledge base

Common complaints

  • Navigation and layout can be confusing
  • Search is hard to use

Full Confluence profileRequest an offer

11

Notion

Free

Notion is a flexible workspace for wikis, docs and databases, priced per member, with Notion AI bundled in Business and Enterprise. SAML SSO starts on Business and SCIM on Enterprise. It has no native help desk, so it works better internally than as a support center.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: workable

Best for

  • Startups and small teams combining wiki and project tracking
  • Teams wanting flexible databases and docs in one tool

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing time tracking or workload planning
  • Companies needing SCIM or audit logs below Enterprise

Key features

Authoring and editing experience
Block editor with databases and docs
Search and AI answers
Notion AI bundled in Business and Enterprise (third party); Free/Plus limited trial
Internal vs public access control
Workspaces, teamspaces, guests (10 on Free); SAML SSO Business+, SCIM Enterprise
Versioning and review workflows
Page history (7 days on Free)
Help desk and chat integrations
Slack link previews, GitHub and Jira embeds noted; no native help desk
Pricing model
Per member per month; yearly saves up to 20%
Target company size
Two-thirds of G2 reviews from small business; Enterprise tier for large orgs

What users like

  • Flexibility to build docs, wikis and databases
  • Strong product direction (G2 sub-score 9.4)

Common complaints

  • Learning curve (ease of use 8.3, lowest sub-score)
  • Gaps for time tracking and resource planning

Full Notion profileRequest an offer

12

Nuclino

Free (up to 50 items)

Nuclino is a lightweight wiki with a free plan limited to 50 items and paid tiers that charge per user, guests included. SAML SSO and an audit log are on Business. Over 100 users requires a custom plan, and G2 reviewers complain that search tolerates typos poorly.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: poor fit

Best for

  • Small teams wanting a simple, fast wiki with a free plan
  • Teams that need SAML SSO at a lower tier than enterprise suites

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams over 100 users (custom talk needed)
  • Heavy workflow or approval needs
  • Customer help centers

Key features

Authoring and editing experience
Markdown-friendly editor per G2 summary
Search and AI answers
Sidekick AI on Business; G2 complaint: search does not tolerate typos
Internal vs public access control
Publishing, custom domain, admin tools
Versioning and review workflows
30-day history on Starter, unlimited on Business
Analytics and content gaps
Team insights on Business
Pricing model
Per user including guests
Target company size
Small teams; custom plan above 100 users

What users like

  • Easy to use, simple design
  • Clean markdown handling

Common complaints

  • Search handles typos poorly

Full Nuclino profileRequest an offer

How to choose knowledge base software

Authoring and editing experience

This is about how easy it is to write and update pages: formatting, images, tables, real-time collaboration and comments. Strong tools let non-technical staff publish without training. Weak ones need technical knowledge or make long documents slow and clumsy to edit.

Search and AI answers

Search quality describes how reliably readers find an answer from a vague question, and whether AI can write a cited reply from your articles. Strong tools tolerate typos, search attachments and show sources. Weak ones match only exact words or charge heavily for AI features.

Internal vs public access control

This criterion covers who can see and edit what: public versus private spaces, groups, guests and single sign-on. Strong tools mix public and private content and support SAML or SCIM. Weak ones offer only one audience or reserve permissions for a higher tier.

Versioning and review workflows

Versioning keeps a history of every page and lets reviewers approve drafts before publishing. Strong tools allow compare and restore plus verification reminders. Weak tools keep little history or have no review step.

Analytics and content gaps

Analytics show how the library performs: views, ratings, top searches and searches that found nothing. Strong tools turn these into a list of missing articles. Weak tools show only page views or place reports on the most expensive plan.

Help desk and chat integrations

This measures how well the knowledge base links with ticketing systems, chat and Slack. Strong tools suggest articles inside tickets and offer a bot or API. Weak ones need manual copying or rely on third-party connectors.

Pricing model

This criterion explains how the product is billed: per author, per agent, per user, flat fee by user cap or custom quote. Strong models are predictable as content and teams grow. Weak ones add fees for AI usage, SSO or readers and make the total hard to forecast.

Target company size

This shows which companies a product was designed for. Lightweight wikis suit small teams, while enterprise knowledge suites add governance, SCIM and audit logs. A mismatch means paying for unused features or outgrowing the tool.

The SaaSBid view

Which knowledge base tool fits your company size

Fit of each tool by company size
Tool1-10 people11-50 people51-500 people500+ people
FreshdeskNo dataStrong fitStrong fitNo data
Help ScoutStrong fitStrong fitWorkableNo data
Document360Poor fitStrong fitStrong fitWorkable
TettraPoor fitStrong fitStrong fitNo data
HelpjuicePoor fitStrong fitStrong fitWorkable
BloomfirePoor fitPoor fitStrong fitStrong fit
SliteWorkableStrong fitStrong fitWorkable
ZendeskPoor fitWorkableStrong fitStrong fit
GuruPoor fitPoor fitStrong fitStrong fit
ConfluenceStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
NotionStrong fitStrong fitWorkableWorkable
NuclinoStrong fitStrong fitWorkablePoor fit

Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor

Ratings follow the vendor's stated audience, minimum user counts, free plan limits, flat-fee user caps and whether SSO, SCIM or audit logs are offered. Cells stay empty when the vendor says nothing useful about that size.

  • 1-10 people

    A fast editor and a free or cheap plan matter most. Nuclino, Confluence (free to 10 users), Notion and Help Scout (free up to 5 users) all start free. Tettra needs 10 users on Scaling, and Helpjuice starts at $249 per month.

  • 11-50 people

    Teams need roles, approvals and search that works. Slite, Tettra, Confluence, Helpjuice, Document360 and Freshdesk all fit here. Check where SSO sits, since it is an add-on or a higher tier on several of them.

  • 51-500 people

    Governance and analytics become decisive. Confluence, Document360, Helpjuice, Guru, Bloomfire, Slite and Zendesk list this range. Internal buyers should compare Guru and Bloomfire, while support teams should compare Zendesk and Document360.

  • 500+ people

    Large organizations need SSO, SCIM, audit logs and regional hosting. Confluence Enterprise, Zendesk, Guru and Bloomfire are aimed at this size. Zendesk offers data center choices in the US, Australia, Japan and the EEA.

Feature coverage at a glance

Documented features by tool
ToolAuthoring and editing experienceSearch and AI answersInternal vs public access controlVersioning and review workflowsAnalytics and content gapsHelp desk and chat integrationsShare
FreshdeskNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Connector app tasks $80 per 5,00017%
Help ScoutNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumented: Salesforce, Jira, HubSpot on Plus17%
Document360Documented: Collaborative editing and Custom Workflow Builder; editor types not detailed on features pageDocumented: Eddy AI features included in plans; AI Chatbot sold as add-onDocumented: Public, private or mixed KB; reader accounts for private KBs; SSO, SCIM, IP restriction, rolesDocumented: Custom Workflow Builder with reviewersDocumented: Pro Analytics listed; failed-search reporting not confirmedDocumented: Connects to third-party help desks, chatbots and collaboration tools (specific names not listed by the vendor)100%
TettraNot documentedDocumented: AI answers and AI bot in Slack included on ScalingDocumented: Group permissions require the SCIM add-onNot documentedDocumented: Usage analytics on ScalingDocumented: Slack bot; Google Workspace integration; API access67%
HelpjuiceDocumented: WYSIWYG editor with tables, custom HTML, drag-and-drop media, real-time editing and commentsDocumented: AI-powered search with 'Ask AI', searches PDFs and images (AI plans)Documented: Restrict by URL, IP, user or group; four user role levels; SSO via Okta, Azure AD, Auth0Documented: Version history with compare and restore; approval process for draftsDocumented: Reports on article impact, search terms, top topics and user activityDocumented: 100+ integrations incl. Slack, Salesforce, Zendesk, Zapier, Teams, Freshdesk; API and Chrome extension100%
BloomfireNot documentedDocumented: G2 reviewers highlight search and discovery (AI-written G2 summary)Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented17%
SliteNot documentedDocumented: Ask AI search on all paid plans; Agent and cross-tool search on ProDocumented: Enforced SSO and external IdPs on higher plans; public docs on custom domain (Pro)Documented: Doc verification workflow on BasicNot documentedDocumented: MCP and API access on Basic; search across connected tools on Pro67%
ZendeskNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented0%
GuruDocumented: Card-based knowledge with verification; details not confirmedDocumented: Knowledge Agents and AI search, cited permission-aware answers, MCP deliveryDocumented: Role-based access, SSO, SCIM, audit logs (enterprise governance)Documented: Verification workflow not confirmedNot documentedDocumented: 100+ integrations (vendor page)83%
ConfluenceDocumented: Real-time collaborative editing with inline and page commentsDocumented: Advanced search, labels and hierarchy; Rovo AI summarizes and explains jargon (Standard and up per third party)Documented: Page and space permissions for users, groups and anonymous from StandardDocumented: Page history, compare and revert on FreeDocumented: Page insights on Standard; site, space and page analytics on PremiumDocumented: Jira, Jira Service Management, Trello and Marketplace apps; Slack not named on features page100%
NotionDocumented: Block editor with databases and docsDocumented: Notion AI bundled in Business and Enterprise (third party); Free/Plus limited trialDocumented: Workspaces, teamspaces, guests (10 on Free); SAML SSO Business+, SCIM EnterpriseDocumented: Page history (7 days on Free)Not documentedDocumented: Slack link previews, GitHub and Jira embeds noted; no native help desk83%
NuclinoDocumented: Markdown-friendly editor per G2 summaryDocumented: Sidekick AI on Business; G2 complaint: search does not tolerate typosDocumented: Publishing, custom domain, admin toolsDocumented: 30-day history on Starter, unlimited on BusinessDocumented: Team insights on BusinessNot documented83%

A check means the vendor documents the capability publicly (hover for the detail). A dash means we found no public documentation, which is a question to put in your request, not proof the feature is missing.

Knowledge Base Software requirements checklist

Use this list to write down what your team actually needs. Sorting requirements into must-have, should-have and nice-to-have is what lets vendors quote accurately instead of pitching their biggest plan.

Must have

  • Clear split between public help center and private internal articlesAccess rules differ widely, and some tools only serve one audience.
  • Editor that non-technical staff can use without trainingIf writing is hard, content goes stale.
  • Search that tolerates typos and returns the right articleFindability decides whether the library reduces tickets.
  • Role-based permissions for authors, reviewers and readersControlling who can publish prevents wrong answers from going live.
  • Page history with compare and restoreTeams need to roll back mistakes and show what changed.

Should have

  • Approval workflow before articles are publishedReview steps are common on mid-tier plans and missing on cheap ones.
  • Reports on failed searches and article ratingsThey reveal content gaps and guide the next writing sprint.
  • AI search or answer generation that cites source articlesAI is priced differently by each vendor, so ask how usage is billed.
  • Connection to our help desk and SlackAgents should be able to insert articles into replies without leaving the ticket.

Nice to have

  • Custom domain and branding for the public help centerMatters for customer-facing sites and may need a higher plan.
  • Multi-language articles with translation supportLanguage count can change pricing for some vendors.
  • SAML single sign-on and SCIM provisioningLarge companies require them, and they are often add-ons.

Turn this checklist into a request

Questions vendors will ask you

Have answers ready for these, and your first conversation with a vendor starts at pricing instead of discovery.

  1. Is the knowledge base for customers, employees or both?Some products serve only one audience, which narrows the list quickly.
  2. How many authors and how many readers will you have?Pricing can count editors, agents, all users or a flat user cap.
  3. Which help desk or chat tools should connect?Native integrations decide whether agents can use articles inside tickets.
  4. Do you need approval workflows and article history?Workflow features sit on different plans for different vendors.
  5. How many articles must be migrated, and from which system?Migration help is included by some vendors and billed by others.
  6. Do you need AI answers, and what monthly volume do you expect?AI is billed per session, per resolution or by credits, which changes the total.

Example request

What a strong knowledge base software request looks like
We are a 60-person software company with a six-person support team. Today our help articles are scattered across a shared drive and an old WordPress page, and customers keep opening tickets for questions we have already answered. We need a public help center on our own domain, a private section for internal runbooks, roles for authors and reviewers, and an approval step before publishing. Search must handle typos, and we want reports on searches with no result. It should connect with Zendesk and Slack. About 300 articles need migration. We want to launch within two months with a budget in the low four figures per year.

Write your own request

Knowledge Base Software FAQ

What is knowledge base software?

It is a searchable library of help articles, FAQs and procedures that either customers or employees can browse. Authors write and review pages, and search or AI surfaces the answers. Companies use it to cut repeat tickets and keep teams on one source of truth.

What is the best knowledge base software for small business?

That depends on audience. Confluence, Nuclino and Notion offer free entry points for internal wikis, Slite adds AI search, and Help Scout includes Docs with its help desk. For a public help center, Helpjuice has flat pricing.

Should I choose an internal or external knowledge base?

Choose external when customers should solve problems alone, and internal when staff need shared procedures. Some products, such as Document360, support both in one account. Others, like Slite or Guru, are built for internal use.

Is Notion a good knowledge base?

For an internal wiki on a small team, yes, because it combines pages and databases in one tool. It has no native help desk, SAML SSO starts on Business, and SCIM waits for Enterprise, so it fits less well as a customer-facing help center.

How is AI changing knowledge base software?

Many tools now answer questions in plain language and cite the source articles. Slite includes Ask AI on paid plans, Guru delivers verified answers in Slack, and Helpjuice adds AI search on its upper plans. Vendors bill AI differently, so ask how usage is counted.

What should I include in a knowledge base request for offers?

State the audience, number of authors and readers, articles to migrate, help desk and Slack integrations, SSO needs, approval steps and your timeline. This lets vendors quote the right plan.

The bottom line

Decide first whether the library serves customers, employees or both, because that removes half of the options. Then check approval workflows, search and SSO against your must-haves and compare the remaining tools on how they bill authors, readers and AI. A precise request on SaaSBid helps vendors quote the correct plan and migration scope, so the offers are comparable.

Related categories