SaaSBid.io

Collaboration and productivity

Best Video Conferencing Software in 2026: 12 Tools Compared by Company Size and Requirements

Updated October 24, 2026 · 12 tools · Facts checked against vendor pages · How we review

Zoom Workplace, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams are the strongest picks for most teams, with the choice following the office suite you already pay for. Whereby suits small client-facing groups that want browser rooms, and Livestorm fits marketing teams running webinars of up to 3,000 attendees.

This page helps buyers compare video conferencing software when the decision depends on attendee limits, recording, security and the tools already in use. The products are grouped by company size and requirements, so a freelancer needing client rooms and a 400-person firm needing SSO and compliance both see a fitting shortlist. Copy the requirement lists into a request on SaaSBid and compare what vendors offer back for your exact setup.

Top picks by situation

  • A solo consultant meeting clients by link

    Whereby

    Permanent room links work in a browser with no install, the Pro plan costs $10.99 per host monthly, and ISO 27001 plus EU hosting suit European clients.

    From: $0 Free

  • A 30-person agency on Google Workspace

    Google Meet

    Meet is built into Calendar and Gmail, Standard allows 150 attendees with recording to Drive, and Starter starts at $7 per user monthly.

    From: $7 per user/month (Business Starter, annual commitment)

  • A 100-person firm on Microsoft 365

    Microsoft Teams

    Teams Essentials at about $4 per user monthly allows 300 attendees, with Outlook and SharePoint links built on Entra ID.

    From: $4.00/user/month paid yearly (Teams Essentials)

  • A sales team living on client calls

    Zoom Workplace

    Business seats take 300 attendees, every paid seat gets AI summaries, and the published trust center names SOC 2 Type 2 plus ISO 27001.

    From: $14.16 per user/month billed annually (Pro)

  • A marketing team running monthly webinars

    Livestorm

    Hosting webinars is what Livestorm does, with Pro reaching 3,000 live viewers, team members costing nothing and polls working inside the attendee's browser.

    From: Pro from EUR 2.50 per attendee (EUR only)

  • A regulated company needing a BAA

    Dialpad Meetings

    A one-click BAA, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 are listed, live AI transcription is included, and an add-on stretches meetings to 1,500 participants.

    From: $15 user/month (Dialpad Connect Standard)

Video Conferencing Software comparison table

Video Conferencing Software compared
ToolBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialG2 rating
Zoho Meeting Small teams already on Zoho apps that want meetings and webinars from one vendor $1 per host per month (Standard, billed annually Yes Yes 4.5 (1,250 reviews)
Whereby Small teams and client-facing professionals who want link-based rooms without installs $0 Free Yes No 4.6 (1,160 reviews)
Livestorm Marketing teams running recurring webinars with unlimited team members Pro from EUR 2.50 per attendee (EUR only) No Yes 4.4 (1,730 reviews)
GoTo Meeting Small and mid-size businesses that want per-organizer pricing instead of per-attendee USD 12 per organizer/month billed annually (Professional) No Yes 4.2 (17,000 reviews)
Jitsi Meet Teams with IT staff who want to self-host and control data Free Yes No 4.3 (229 reviews)
RingCentral Video Companies already on RingCentral phone/messaging that want video in the same admin console Free (Video Pro) Yes Yes 4.2 (503 reviews)
Dialpad Meetings Teams already buying Dialpad for calling that want meetings in the same app $15 user/month (Dialpad Connect Standard) Not stated Not stated 4.4 (2,101 reviews)
Google Meet Teams already on Google Workspace that want meetings tied to Calendar and Gmail $7 per user/month (Business Starter, annual commitment) Yes Yes 4.6 (47,643 reviews)
Cisco Webex Enterprises that want meetings plus calling and room hardware from one vendor Free plan Yes Not stated No rating
Zoom Workplace Teams whose main need is reliable video meetings with chat attached $14.16 per user/month billed annually (Pro) Yes Not stated 4.5 (56,500 reviews)
Slack Teams wanting channel-based chat with a large app ecosystem $8.75/user/month monthly, about $7.25/user/month billed annually (Pro) Yes No 4.5 (37,812 reviews)
Microsoft Teams Organizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID $4.00/user/month paid yearly (Teams Essentials) Yes No 4.4 (19,192 reviews)

What is video conferencing software?

Video conferencing software lets people meet by video, audio and screen sharing over the internet instead of in one room. Day to day it covers team stand-ups, client calls, interviews, all-hands sessions and training. A host schedules a meeting or opens a permanent room, guests join from a link, and the tool can record the session, add a transcript or show chat and polls. Every employee who talks to customers or colleagues in other locations uses it, and IT teams care about admin controls, encryption and how well the tool works with their calendar and chat setup.

Core capabilities

  • Meetings with video, audio and screen sharing

    Gives hosts a link-based room where guests join from a browser or app and present their screen.

  • Participant and duration limits

    Sets how many people can attend and how long a session can run, which differ sharply between free and paid plans.

  • Recording and transcription

    Saves meetings to the cloud or a device and can produce transcripts or AI summaries.

  • Calendar and chat integration

    Creates meeting links from Google Calendar, Outlook or Slack so no one pastes URLs by hand.

  • Webinars and large events

    Handles registration, Q&A and polls for audiences far larger than a normal meeting.

  • Security and admin controls

    Covers encryption, meeting locks, single sign-on and compliance programs such as SOC 2 or HIPAA.

The 12 best video conferencing software, reviewed

1

Zoho Meeting

$1 per host per month (Standard, billed annually

Hosts pay for Zoho Meeting, from $1 monthly on annual Standard billing, with participant tiers between 10 and 250 and a free plan available. Webinars come as a separate product with registration forms and YouTube streaming. Zoho app users are the natural buyers.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: workable
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small teams already on Zoho apps that want meetings and webinars from one vendor
  • Buyers who want per-host licensing with participant tiers instead of fixed plan caps

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing published prices to compare before talking to anyone
  • Buyers who need AI transcription or meeting-room hardware depth (not described on feature page)

Key features

Pricing model
Per host, tiers 10/25/50/100/150/200/250 participants; free plan exists
Target company size
Small to mid-size teams, Zoho ecosystem users
Participant and meeting length limits
Up to 250 participants per tier list; meetings up to 24 hours on Standard
Security and compliance
SSL and 128-bit AES transport encryption, meeting lock/password, CSV action log; certifications not confirmed by the vendor
Recording and AI transcription
Cloud recording 5 GB per host on Standard; transcription listed on Professional
Calendar and chat integrations
Zoho and Google calendars; Microsoft calendar and Slack not mentioned
Webinars and large events
Separate webinar product with registration forms, polls, Q&A, YouTube live streaming
Meeting room and hardware support
Meeting rooms sold separately; hardware support not described

What users like

  • Reliable and simple for non-technical users
  • Works well with other Zoho products

Common complaints

  • Video and audio quality problems reported by some reviewers
  • Missing features and limited recording access

Full Zoho Meeting profileRequest an offer

2

Whereby

$0 Free

Whereby gives each host a permanent room link that opens in a browser tab, mostly on EU servers. The Free plan is limited to 4 people and 30 minutes, while Pro costs $10.99 and Business $13.99 per host monthly. SSO and webinar features are undocumented.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: no data
  • 500+: poor fit

Best for

  • Small teams and client-facing professionals who want link-based rooms without installs
  • EU-based buyers wanting EU hosting and ISO 27001

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams needing webinars, AI notes or room hardware (not described)
  • Buyers needing SSO (not documented)

Key features

Pricing model
Per host: Free, Pro $10.99, Business $13.99 per month
Target company size
Individuals and small teams; Embedded product for developers
Participant and meeting length limits
Free 4 attendees/30 min; Pro 100; Business 200; unlimited length on paid
Security and compliance
ISO 27001; AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.2; E2E on small rooms; HIPAA not mentioned
Recording and AI transcription
Local recording; unlimited recording on Pro; AI transcription not mentioned
Calendar and chat integrations
Google Calendar named; Slack and Teams not mentioned
Meeting room and hardware support
Not described; browser-based

What users like

  • Easy to join from a browser with no install

Full Whereby profileRequest an offer

3

Livestorm

Pro from EUR 2.50 per attendee (EUR only)

Livestorm is built for webinars and virtual events, billed through a yearly pack of attendee credits instead of host licenses. Pro reaches 3,000 live attendees and includes unlimited events. Reviewers call it pricey for small teams, and SAML SSO is a paid add-on.

  • 1-10: poor fit
  • 11-50: poor fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Marketing teams running recurring webinars with unlimited team members
  • Events up to 3,000 live attendees

Look elsewhere if

  • Small teams on a tight budget (reviewers call pricing steep)
  • Teams needing deep branding customization on lower tiers

Key features

Pricing model
Yearly attendee-credit pack; team members free
Target company size
Mid-size marketing and events teams to enterprise
Participant and meeting length limits
3,000 live attendees per event on Pro and Enterprise; 4 h (Pro) / 12 h (Enterprise)
Security and compliance
SAML SSO sold as an add-on
Recording and AI transcription
Recording with start/pause/stop on Pro
Webinars and large events
Core product: webinars and events, unlimited events on Pro

What users like

  • Interactive features such as polls
  • Attendees join in the browser without install
  • Strong analytics

Common complaints

  • Limited branding and landing page customization on lower tiers
  • Pricey for small teams

Full Livestorm profileRequest an offer

4

GoTo Meeting

USD 12 per organizer/month billed annually (Professional)

Licenses at GoTo Meeting go to organizers only, so guests join free of charge. Professional hosts 150 attendees for $12 per organizer monthly with annual billing, Business hosts 250. Every plan has SSO, while recording and transcripts look limited to Business and above.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Small and mid-size businesses that want per-organizer pricing instead of per-attendee
  • Teams needing 250 attendees without separate webinar licensing

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers needing more than 250 attendees on standard plans (not confirmed by the vendor)

Key features

Pricing model
Per organizer per month; attendees do not need licenses
Target company size
SMB to mid-market
Participant and meeting length limits
150 (Professional), 250 (Business), Enterprise up to 250 per vendor page
Security and compliance
SSO, encrypted sessions, end-to-end encryption, meeting lock; certifications not listed on the page
Recording and AI transcription
Cloud recording and transcription appear to be Business and Enterprise only (inferred from checkmarks)
Webinars and large events
Advanced webinar features appear Enterprise only; webinars also sold as a separate product

What users like

  • Easy to use and set up (G2 sub-scores 8.8 and 8.6)

Full GoTo Meeting profileRequest an offer

5

Jitsi Meet is open-source software that a company can host on its own servers or use free at meet.jit.si. It encrypts transport traffic, with optional end-to-end encryption in some browsers. Self-hosting needs IT skills, and no vendor compliance certificates were found.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: workable
  • 51-500: no data
  • 500+: poor fit

Best for

  • Teams with IT staff who want to self-host and control data
  • Developers embedding video in apps via JaaS iFrame API

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers wanting managed admin, SSO and support without running servers
  • Regulated teams needing vendor compliance certificates

Key features

Pricing model
Free open source; JaaS free to 25 endpoints, paid above
Target company size
Small teams and developers; self-hosting needs IT skills
Security and compliance
DTLS-SRTP transport encryption; optional E2EE for audio/video/screen share in Chromium 83+ and Electron, not chat or polls; no vendor certifications found
Recording and AI transcription
JaaS lists recordings and transcriptions

Full Jitsi Meet profileRequest an offer

6

RingCentral Video

Free (Video Pro)

RingCentral Video offers a free tier and a paid Pro+ plan, and it also comes bundled in RingCentral's phone plans. Its trust center lists SOC 2, HITRUST and HIPAA. Reviewers report lag, app freezes and pricing above Zoom.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Companies already on RingCentral phone/messaging that want video in the same admin console
  • Teams that want a free tier for occasional meetings

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers who only need standalone video and find bundle pricing too high
  • Teams sensitive to lag and occasional app freezes reported in reviews

Key features

Pricing model
Free Video Pro plus paid Pro+; also bundled in RingEX phone plans
Target company size
Small to enterprise, strongest where RingCentral phone is already used
Participant and meeting length limits
Third-party: 100 participants/50 min free, 200/24 h Pro+ (not confirmed by the vendor)
Security and compliance
Trust center lists HITRUST, PCI DSS, SOC 2, SOC 3, GDPR, Cyber Essentials Plus, HIPAA
Recording and AI transcription
AI call and meeting summaries listed as AI Assistant, depending on tier

What users like

  • Quick setup
  • Low lag in meetings

Common complaints

  • Lag and app freezes
  • Missing transcriptions and glitches
  • Pricey versus Zoom and similar tools

Full RingCentral Video profileRequest an offer

7

Dialpad Meetings

$15 user/month (Dialpad Connect Standard)

Within Dialpad Connect, the meetings module costs $15 per user monthly on Standard. It includes live AI transcription and works with Microsoft 365 and Google Calendar. Storage sits in the US, a point for buyers who need data in the EU.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: no data
  • 51-500: no data
  • 500+: no data

Best for

  • Teams already buying Dialpad for calling that want meetings in the same app
  • Regulated buyers needing SOC 2, ISO and a one-click BAA

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams wanting a standalone meetings-only price
  • Buyers requiring EU data storage (stored in US per trust page)

Key features

Pricing model
Bundled in Dialpad Connect, per user
Participant and meeting length limits
Large Meetings add-on raises limit to 1,500; base limit not stated
Security and compliance
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001/27017/27018, HIPAA-ready with one-click BAA
Recording and AI transcription
Live AI transcription included; recordings and chat transcripts accessible
Calendar and chat integrations
Microsoft 365 and Google Calendar; Salesforce activity logging
Webinars and large events
Large Meetings add-on up to 1,500
Meeting room and hardware support
Dialpad Meetings for Rooms, one-click video rooms

What users like

  • Good audio and video quality
  • Easy to use

Common complaints

  • Mobile app glitches when switching networks

Full Dialpad Meetings profileRequest an offer

8

Google Meet

$7 per user/month (Business Starter, annual commitment)

Google Meet comes with Google Workspace, so there is no separate paid license. Attendee limits rise from 100 on Starter to 1,000 on Enterprise, and recording to Drive begins at Standard. Reviewers report pixelation in large calls and recording limits on lower tiers.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Teams already on Google Workspace that want meetings tied to Calendar and Gmail
  • Small teams that can live with 100 to 150 attendees per meeting

Look elsewhere if

  • Buyers who do not want to buy a full Workspace suite just for video
  • Teams that need recording on the cheapest plan (not supported on Starter)

Key features

Pricing model
Per user via Google Workspace edition; no standalone paid Meet license
Target company size
Starter, Standard and Plus capped at 300 users; Enterprise has no user cap
Participant and meeting length limits
100 (Starter), 150 (Standard), 500 (Plus), 1,000 (Enterprise); meetings up to 24 hours
Security and compliance
Google lists FedRAMP, HIPAA and ISO/IEC programs for Workspace; client-side encryption and data regions offered; specific SOC reports not confirmed by the vendor
Recording and AI transcription
Recording to Drive not supported on Starter; included from Standard
Calendar and chat integrations
Native to Google Calendar, Gmail and Chat
Webinars and large events
In-domain live streaming on Enterprise (internal viewers, 8-hour stream limit, manual recording)

What users like

  • Easy to join from a browser with no install
  • Good fit with Calendar and the rest of Workspace
  • Solid audio and video quality for small meetings

Common complaints

  • Screen sharing glitches reported
  • Recording and time limits on lower tiers
  • Video can pixelate in large calls

Full Google Meet profileRequest an offer

9

Cisco Webex

Free plan

Cisco Webex is a suite for meetings, calling and events aimed at enterprise and hybrid offices. A free plan exists, but paid prices could not be confirmed from the vendor and vary by source. Companies wanting room hardware and calling from one vendor are its audience.

  • 1-10: no data
  • 11-50: poor fit
  • 51-500: no data
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Enterprises that want meetings plus calling and room hardware from one vendor

Look elsewhere if

  • Small teams wanting a transparent price list (figures vary by source)

Key features

Pricing model
Per user tiers (Free, Meet, Suite, Enterprise) not confirmed by the vendor
Target company size
Enterprise focus
Participant and meeting length limits
Free about 100; paid Meet about 200 not confirmed by the vendor

Full Cisco Webex profileRequest an offer

10

Zoom Workplace

$14.16 per user/month billed annually (Pro)

Zoom Workplace adds team chat, whiteboards and AI note-taking to its meetings. Pro costs $14.16 per user monthly on an annual plan, Business seats hold 300 attendees, and free calls end after 40 minutes. Webinars and Large Meetings are sold as add-ons.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Teams whose main need is reliable video meetings with chat attached
  • Companies that want recording and AI summaries on every paid seat

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams that want a chat-first workspace with a large app ecosystem
  • Free-tier users needing meetings longer than 40 minutes

Key features

Pricing model
Per user, monthly or annual; free Basic tier
Target company size
Small business to enterprise
Participant and meeting length limits
Basic 100 and 40 min; Pro 100; Business 300; Enterprise up to 1,000; 30 hour max on paid plans
Security and compliance
Trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, FedRAMP Moderate, PCI DSS
Recording and AI transcription
Local recording on Basic; 10 GB cloud per license on Pro and Business; unlimited cloud on Enterprise; AI summaries unlimited on paid plans
Webinars and large events
Webinars and Large Meetings are paid add-ons (prices not published on the plans page)

What users like

  • Good video quality and easy screen sharing
  • Simple scheduling and joining

Common complaints

  • Feature set seen as limited versus suites
  • Connectivity issues and meeting fatigue

Full Zoom Workplace profileRequest an offer

11

Slack

$8.75/user/month monthly, about $7.25/user/month billed annually (Pro)

Slack is channel-based team chat that offers huddles and Slack Connect, with Pro at about $7.25 per user monthly on annual billing. The free plan has only one-to-one huddles and keeps 90 days of history. It lists broad compliance programs including SOC 2 Type II and FedRAMP.

  • 1-10: workable
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Teams wanting channel-based chat with a large app ecosystem
  • Companies already on Salesforce
  • Organizations needing SAML SSO plus SCIM on a self-serve plan (Business+)

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams that need long free message history (Free keeps 90 days)
  • Buyers wanting group video on the free plan (1:1 huddles only)

Key features

Pricing model
Per user, monthly or annual; Free forever tier
Target company size
Small teams to large enterprises (Enterprise Grid)
Security and compliance
SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3, ISO 27001/27017/27018/27701/42001, HIPAA configurable, FedRAMP Moderate (Enterprise/Enterprise+), GovSlack FedRAMP High, C5, ENS High

What users like

  • Very easy to use (G2 ease of use about 9.1)
  • Strong app and integration ecosystem

Common complaints

  • Notification overload and channel sprawl
  • Limited message history on free plan

Full Slack profileRequest an offer

12

Microsoft Teams

$4.00/user/month paid yearly (Teams Essentials)

Microsoft Teams is sold alone as Teams Essentials at $4 per user monthly or inside Microsoft 365 plans. Essentials and Business allow 300 attendees, while larger plans allow 1,000. Teams Rooms need a separate license, and reviewers describe the client as heavy.

  • 1-10: strong fit
  • 11-50: strong fit
  • 51-500: strong fit
  • 500+: strong fit

Best for

  • Organizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID
  • Small businesses wanting meetings for up to 300 people at about $4/user/month

Look elsewhere if

  • Teams wanting a lightweight tool; reviewers report slow, resource-heavy clients
  • Buyers needing group video calls beyond 20 people from a chat

Key features

Pricing model
Per user, bundled with Microsoft 365 or standalone Essentials
Target company size
Small businesses (Essentials, Business) to enterprises (E3/E5)
Participant and meeting length limits
300 on Essentials and Business plans; 1,000 on F1/F3/E3/E5 and similar; breakout rooms only up to 1,000 attendees; meetings and events capped at 30 hours
Security and compliance
Built on Entra ID and Microsoft 365 compliance; certification list not confirmed by the vendor
Recording and AI transcription
Recording max 4 hours or 1.5 GB, then restarts; recordings not uploaded stay downloadable 20 days
Calendar and chat integrations
Tight Outlook and SharePoint integration; files stored in SharePoint (up to 250 GB per file)
Webinars and large events
Webinars and town halls (Teams events) available on Business plans; webinars/events on Business Standard and Premium per footnote
Meeting room and hardware support
Teams Rooms licensed separately

What users like

  • Easy to use, strong file sharing and communication features
  • Tight fit with Microsoft 365

Common complaints

  • Performance issues and heavy resource use
  • Complicated interface, slow loading

Full Microsoft Teams profileRequest an offer

How to choose video conferencing software

Pricing model

This covers how the tool is billed, such as per host, per user, per attendee credit or bundled in a larger suite, and whether a free plan exists. Strong models are clear about what each tier includes. Weak ones hide webinar or large-meeting add-ons.

Target company size

This shows whether a product was built for freelancers, midsize teams or large enterprises. Light tools stay simple and cheap, while enterprise products add SSO, admin policies and compliance. A mismatch means paying for unused depth or lacking controls.

Participant and meeting length limits

This describes how many attendees can join and how long a session may last. Strong plans allow several hundred participants and sessions of 24 hours or more. Weak plans cap free meetings at 30 or 40 minutes or restrict attendance to a handful of people.

Security and compliance

A meeting tool can be judged by its safeguards and by the proof behind them. Better products let admins enforce SSO, lock rooms and review logs, and they publish audit reports or HIPAA support. Weaker ones only promise encrypted traffic.

Recording and AI transcription

This covers saving meetings and turning them into transcripts or summaries. Strong tools include cloud storage, searchable transcripts and AI notes on paid plans. Weak ones restrict recording to local files or reserve transcription for top tiers.

Calendar and chat integrations

This shows how well the tool plugs into calendars and chat apps. Strong tools create links from Google Calendar, Outlook or Slack with one click. Weak ones need manual link copying or support only one ecosystem.

Webinars and large events

This covers registration pages, Q&A, polls and large audiences. Strong tools include webinar features or sell a clearly scoped add-on. Weak ones offer only standard meetings or hide event pricing.

Meeting room and hardware support

This describes support for conference rooms, displays and cameras in hybrid offices. Strong vendors sell room systems with central management. Weak ones leave room support undocumented or charge a separate license.

The SaaSBid view

Which video conferencing tool fits your company size

Fit of each tool by company size
Tool1-10 people11-50 people51-500 people500+ people
Zoho MeetingStrong fitStrong fitWorkableNo data
WherebyStrong fitStrong fitNo dataPoor fit
LivestormPoor fitPoor fitStrong fitStrong fit
GoTo MeetingWorkableStrong fitStrong fitNo data
Jitsi MeetStrong fitWorkableNo dataPoor fit
RingCentral VideoWorkableStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
Dialpad MeetingsNo dataNo dataNo dataNo data
Google MeetStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
Cisco WebexNo dataPoor fitNo dataStrong fit
Zoom WorkplaceStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
SlackWorkableStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit
Microsoft TeamsStrong fitStrong fitStrong fitStrong fit

Strong fitWorkablePoor fitNo data from the vendor

Ratings reflect each vendor's stated company size, attendee caps, free plan limits and enterprise controls such as SSO and compliance programs. A cell is left empty when the vendor says nothing about that size, as with Dialpad.

  • 1-10 people

    Free plans and fast setup matter most at this size. Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, Zoom, Whereby and Zoho Meeting each have a free plan or low entry price. Jitsi Meet costs nothing but needs someone to run it when self-hosted.

  • 11-50 people

    Teams now want recording, calendar sync and attendee limits above 100. Google Meet Standard, Teams Essentials, Zoom Business, GoTo Meeting and RingCentral Video fit here. Check whether your chosen plan includes cloud recording, since some starter plans do not.

  • 51-500 people

    Admin controls and webinars become relevant. Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, GoTo Meeting and RingCentral Video all list support for this range. Livestorm fits if the main need is marketing webinars rather than internal meetings.

  • 500+ people

    SSO, compliance and large-event capacity decide. Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet Enterprise, RingCentral Video and Cisco Webex target this size. Livestorm Enterprise suits large webinars, though SAML SSO is a paid add-on.

Feature coverage at a glance

Documented features by tool
ToolParticipant and meeting length limitsSecurity and complianceRecording and AI transcriptionCalendar and chat integrationsWebinars and large eventsMeeting room and hardware supportShare
Zoho MeetingDocumented: Up to 250 participants per tier list; meetings up to 24 hours on StandardDocumented: SSL and 128-bit AES transport encryption, meeting lock/password, CSV action log; certifications not confirmed by the vendorDocumented: Cloud recording 5 GB per host on Standard; transcription listed on ProfessionalDocumented: Zoho and Google calendars; Microsoft calendar and Slack not mentionedDocumented: Separate webinar product with registration forms, polls, Q&A, YouTube live streamingDocumented: Meeting rooms sold separately; hardware support not described100%
WherebyDocumented: Free 4 attendees/30 min; Pro 100; Business 200; unlimited length on paidDocumented: ISO 27001; AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.2; E2E on small rooms; HIPAA not mentionedDocumented: Local recording; unlimited recording on Pro; AI transcription not mentionedDocumented: Google Calendar named; Slack and Teams not mentionedNot documentedDocumented: Not described; browser-based83%
LivestormDocumented: 3,000 live attendees per event on Pro and Enterprise; 4 h (Pro) / 12 h (Enterprise)Documented: SAML SSO sold as an add-onDocumented: Recording with start/pause/stop on ProNot documentedDocumented: Core product: webinars and events, unlimited events on ProNot documented67%
GoTo MeetingDocumented: 150 (Professional), 250 (Business), Enterprise up to 250 per vendor pageDocumented: SSO, encrypted sessions, end-to-end encryption, meeting lock; certifications not listed on the pageDocumented: Cloud recording and transcription appear to be Business and Enterprise only (inferred from checkmarks)Not documentedDocumented: Advanced webinar features appear Enterprise only; webinars also sold as a separate productNot documented67%
Jitsi MeetNot documentedDocumented: DTLS-SRTP transport encryption; optional E2EE for audio/video/screen share in Chromium 83+ and Electron, not chat or polls; no vendor certifications foundDocumented: JaaS lists recordings and transcriptionsNot documentedNot documentedNot documented33%
RingCentral VideoDocumented: Third-party: 100 participants/50 min free, 200/24 h Pro+ (not confirmed by the vendor)Documented: Trust center lists HITRUST, PCI DSS, SOC 2, SOC 3, GDPR, Cyber Essentials Plus, HIPAADocumented: AI call and meeting summaries listed as AI Assistant, depending on tierNot documentedNot documentedNot documented50%
Dialpad MeetingsDocumented: Large Meetings add-on raises limit to 1,500; base limit not statedDocumented: SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001/27017/27018, HIPAA-ready with one-click BAADocumented: Live AI transcription included; recordings and chat transcripts accessibleDocumented: Microsoft 365 and Google Calendar; Salesforce activity loggingDocumented: Large Meetings add-on up to 1,500Documented: Dialpad Meetings for Rooms, one-click video rooms100%
Google MeetDocumented: 100 (Starter), 150 (Standard), 500 (Plus), 1,000 (Enterprise); meetings up to 24 hoursDocumented: Google lists FedRAMP, HIPAA and ISO/IEC programs for Workspace; client-side encryption and data regions offered; specific SOC reports not confirmed by the vendorDocumented: Recording to Drive not supported on Starter; included from StandardDocumented: Native to Google Calendar, Gmail and ChatDocumented: In-domain live streaming on Enterprise (internal viewers, 8-hour stream limit, manual recording)Not documented83%
Cisco WebexDocumented: Free about 100; paid Meet about 200 not confirmed by the vendorNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented17%
Zoom WorkplaceDocumented: Basic 100 and 40 min; Pro 100; Business 300; Enterprise up to 1,000; 30 hour max on paid plansDocumented: Trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, FedRAMP Moderate, PCI DSSDocumented: Local recording on Basic; 10 GB cloud per license on Pro and Business; unlimited cloud on Enterprise; AI summaries unlimited on paid plansNot documentedDocumented: Webinars and Large Meetings are paid add-ons (prices not published on the plans page)Not documented67%
SlackNot documentedDocumented: SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3, ISO 27001/27017/27018/27701/42001, HIPAA configurable, FedRAMP Moderate (Enterprise/Enterprise+), GovSlack FedRAMP High, C5, ENS HighNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented17%
Microsoft TeamsDocumented: 300 on Essentials and Business plans; 1,000 on F1/F3/E3/E5 and similar; breakout rooms only up to 1,000 attendees; meetings and events capped at 30 hoursDocumented: Built on Entra ID and Microsoft 365 compliance; certification list not confirmed by the vendorDocumented: Recording max 4 hours or 1.5 GB, then restarts; recordings not uploaded stay downloadable 20 daysDocumented: Tight Outlook and SharePoint integration; files stored in SharePoint (up to 250 GB per file)Documented: Webinars and town halls (Teams events) available on Business plans; webinars/events on Business Standard and Premium per footnoteDocumented: Teams Rooms licensed separately100%

A check means the vendor documents the capability publicly (hover for the detail). A dash means we found no public documentation, which is a question to put in your request, not proof the feature is missing.

Video Conferencing Software requirements checklist

Use this list to write down what your team actually needs. Sorting requirements into must-have, should-have and nice-to-have is what lets vendors quote accurately instead of pitching their biggest plan.

Must have

  • Meetings for at least 100 participants with no 40-minute cutoffAttendee and duration caps differ widely by plan and decide whether all-hands sessions work.
  • Join from a browser without installing softwareClients and external guests often cannot install apps.
  • Cloud recording with shareable linksSome entry plans offer only local recording or none at all.
  • Calendar integration with Google Calendar or OutlookMeeting links should appear in invites automatically.
  • Passwords, waiting rooms and meeting lockBasic access control is expected, but admin-level policies vary by plan.

Should have

  • AI meeting summaries and searchable transcriptsAvailability depends on tier, and some tools charge extra.
  • Single sign-on and central user managementIT teams need it to onboard and offboard staff quickly.
  • Breakout rooms, polls and Q&ATraining and webinar formats rely on them.
  • Integration with our team chat toolStarting a call from a channel saves time.

Nice to have

  • Webinar hosting for 500 or more attendeesOften a separate paid product, so state it early.
  • Support for meeting room hardwareHybrid offices may need room licenses and compatible displays.
  • EU data hosting and ISO 27001Relevant for European buyers with data residency rules.
  • Self-hosting optionAppeals to IT-led teams that want to control their own data.

Turn this checklist into a request

Questions vendors will ask you

Have answers ready for these, and your first conversation with a vendor starts at pricing instead of discovery.

  1. How many people attend a typical meeting, and what is your largest event?Attendee limits and add-ons for large meetings change the plan.
  2. How many people will host meetings, and how many only join?Per-host and per-user licensing give very different totals.
  3. Which office suite and chat tool do you use today?A native fit with Microsoft 365, Google Workspace or Slack may remove the need for another tool.
  4. Do you need cloud recording, transcripts or AI summaries, and for how long must recordings be kept?Storage limits and AI features differ between tiers.
  5. Do you operate in a regulated sector or need data stored in a specific region?Compliance programs, a BAA and hosting region narrow the field.
  6. Will you run webinars or meeting rooms with hardware?Both are frequently sold separately from standard meetings.

Example request

What a strong video conferencing software request looks like
We are a 70-person consulting firm with staff in three offices and many remote client calls. We currently use free video accounts, and meetings often hit the 40-minute limit or fail when a client cannot install the app. We need meetings for up to 150 participants, browser access for guests, cloud recording with transcripts, and Outlook calendar integration. Single sign-on for our staff is required, and we want waiting rooms and meeting lock. Two conference rooms may need hardware later. About fifteen people will host meetings. We want to switch within two months and expect a budget in the low four figures per year.

Write your own request

Video Conferencing Software FAQ

What is video conferencing software?

It is a tool that connects people by video, audio and screen sharing over the internet. Hosts schedule meetings or keep permanent rooms, and guests join by link. Most products add chat, recording and calendar integration.

What is the best video conferencing software for small business?

The answer follows your office suite. Google Meet fits Google Workspace, Microsoft Teams fits Microsoft 365, and Zoom suits teams that mostly need strong meetings. Whereby is a lighter option for small groups that want browser rooms.

Which video conferencing tool has the best free plan?

Free plans trade length and attendees for price. Zoom's free tier stops meetings at 40 minutes, Whereby allows 4 attendees for 30 minutes, and Jitsi Meet costs nothing to use or self-host. Compare those limits against how you really meet.

What features should video conferencing software have?

Look for attendee caps that fit your largest meeting, browser join for guests, cloud recording, calendar sync and basic access control. Add SSO, transcripts and webinars if your company needs them.

Is video conferencing software secure and compliant?

That depends on the vendor and the plan. Zoom, RingCentral Video and Dialpad publish programs like SOC 2 and HIPAA readiness, whereas some tools document only encryption. Request the actual certificates and ask if a BAA is offered.

What should I include in a video conferencing request for offers?

State attendee numbers, how many hosts you have, your office suite, recording and compliance needs, webinars, room hardware and your timeline. This helps vendors propose the correct plan instead of a generic quote.

The bottom line

Choose by size and suite first: Microsoft 365 firms start with Teams, Google Workspace firms start with Meet, and others compare Zoom, Whereby or GoTo Meeting. Then strike any option that misses a must-have such as recording or SSO. A precise list sent through SaaSBid lets vendors quote the right plan and add-ons, so offers arrive in a form you can compare directly.

Related categories